You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vive la révolution - steem is here (or why I haven't been so excited for over 20 years)

in #steem7 years ago

My first internet was AOL in 1996. I didn't own my own computer; it was my best friend and roommate's computer but I was the one to get us online (it needed a modem upgrade but we didn't know that. Talking to AOL tech help, I was writing code and shit and every time it didn't work, I called back and listed off what other techs had had me try. By the end, I was getting, "Damn, I don't even know how to do half of what you just said." Finally I was griping to a geeky friend who said, it's the hardware. So we got a 14.4 modem and viola! Internet! Don't ask me how none of the AOL people who had me writing code didn't understand "It's a 1993 Packard Bell" and think, hey, it probably needs a new modem! LOL).
I built a webpage on GeoCities and learned a little html from the "I found a cheat sheet and that's good enough we're gonna fuck with it until it's pretty" method. 😂

Sort:  

I love the little 'tunes' those old 14.4 modems used to play when connecting to the net.

Always on just isn't the same...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34