You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 things I have done today to help the planet… [Day 002 – 16 May ’19]

in #steem5 years ago

Ooh I like that you have recycled scrubbers. That's one that I still use, is dish scrubbers, even though I am really close to zero waste. I tried too the ones made out of - coir, I think? - but they fall apart REALLY fast and don't work very well besides.
It's not like I toss a scrubber very often, but it is still a plastic thing that eventually gets thrown away and can't be recycled and I haven't found a replacement for. I'll have to see if those recycled ones are available here too.
Regarding your customer service adventure, I like to do things like that too, because I figure, even if they don't care that I write/call, if a bunch of us start doing so, they'll pay attention. So the other day, I had a new idea besides my usual writing to companies about packaging or calling pols about policy. Here's the post I put on FB about it, lol. I c&p'd it for the email text.

"So because of that docu bringing up the divest movement, combined with this other docu I watched recently where this guy was talking about investing in the environment as sound business practice, it got me thinking. We should all encourage insurance companies - I'm specifically thinking like homeowners insurance that has flood coverage, or does fire coverage cover wildfires? - things like that, to invest in restoration projects. Although, health insurance should be interested too, since environmental destruction causes poor health, although in most places besides our backward ass country, that isn't so much a "business" to begin with.
So I just emailed Geico (which apparently offers homeowners flood insurance - I thought they just did cars but I was wrong):
"Hi Geico,
So I understand y'all offer flood insurance. Might I make a suggestion that y'all invest in things to slow climate change, in order to save yourselves money in the long run?
You know better than me that claims from things that are climate-change-related are only going to increase in years to come. It would make good business sense for you to invest in slowing that process as much as possible.
Real solutions that work, like restoring soils, planting trees, or even I dunno, offer grants to poor folks to get solar systems to lessen our dependence on fossil fuels. This would all save you more money than you're paying up front to fund it.
Please consider doing what will help the whole world AND your business model. Thanks."
...I'm going to keep contacting insurance companies, one at a time. Join me if you think it's a good idea! :)"

Sort:  

This is a great idea about contacting insurance companies on this.

I am going to check the UK insurers. Thank you for the idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34