This newbies journey from SteamDollars to cash

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

A day or two after I eagerly signed up to steemit I was ready to turn some of my steemdollars into cold hard cash.

I'd read every guide I could find and boiled it down to simple 4 steps.

  1. Steemdollars to steem (we do that right here)
  2. Steem to bitcoin (head over to an exchange)
  3. Bitcoin to cash (find a friendly trader with lots of money)
  4. celebrate with some mum dancing in the lounge

Step one
type 200 in the buy steem total box, click price i want from the coloumn on the right, find the best rate, click sell and wait for the grey box saying sale complete.

I was pretty sure I'd be the cryptocurrency queen in no time at all.

Step Two.

Time to exchange I headed over to Block Traders put all my lovely steem in the amount box clicked the drop down list and...

STEEM had gone, vanished . I suspect the crypto gods where not happy with my plans to ascend to the ranks of royalty in just one day, removing Steem from the trade list just to spite me.

So I registered with poloniex, clicked the link in the email and I was in right until they wanted 2 step verification

My £10 asda mobile wasn't going to cut it anymore it was time to upgrade. A few hours and one empty bank account later I stared at a screen that made Steemit's market page look like an introduction to maths for 2 year olds

a couple of google searches later I found this guy and his guide to poloniex..phew

Finally I had made the trade, my brand new bit wallet had bitcoin in.

Step Three
I registered with localbitcoin.com, filled in my profile, verified my phone number, read the sites advice, picked a trader with high ratings and started the trade..
he said "Hello"
I said "Hello there"
Then i did this

For an hour until the trade automatically cancelled.
I found another trader filled the details and

there was £132 in my bank I released the bit coin from the escrow and finally got to

Thanks for reading

Phoenixmaid

If you enjoyed this you can also read about the weekend I spent chasing giants
https://steemit.com/photography/@phoenixmaid/a-giant-spectacular-i-ll-never-forget

Sort:  

I hope this process gets simpler over time. Hoping Coinbase, Bitwalas or the like add STEEM and S$!

I'd welcome anything that makes it simpler.

I'm sure it'll happen if Steemit gains popularity.

You make it sound so easy!

by my usual standards that was a pretty straight forward event. You know me if something can go wrong it usually will... repeatedly.

Lol well then at least we can take note that if you can do it, we can do it ;) X

How long did it take and how much did you lose in comissions on the whole transaction?

Not a lot here is a link to Poloniex's page about fees it'll be more useful in the long run than me quoting 1 transaction.
https://www.poloniex.com/fees/
and there are no fees if you are selling bitcoin on localbitcoin.com

It took me most of the day but as you can see things didn't entirely go to plan.

it had a high trust rating on scamadviser, and the traders here seemed to get very excited when they started trading steem.

I'd be sure to remember your post when I withdraw my first money.

I know I haven't got the brain capacity for all that. Stay handy hun for a Walkthrough with me please and well done you

I'll get some links to you on fb so you can get just sign up to everything and familerise yourself with the layouts. Then when you're ready to withdraw message me again with your number and i'll give you a call hun

That would be great thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16