You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New App to Secure Your Steem Account

in #steem8 years ago

Very interesting modprobe.. i am not sure of all the technical stuff behind what the hell you just did there, but it sounds pretty damn cool to me. My stupid question may be; does this stop Steemit.com from assisting us in recovering our account if we are hacked? thanks for your time ....

Sort:  

I would appreciate comment from @dantheman on this, but I don't think it will block that. Note that when you first change keys, Steemit.com will warn you that someone might have hacked your account because your keys changed. Just ignore that, since you did it yourself.

I do not change the recovery account, so I see no reason Steemit.com's recovery service would no longer work.

Would you mind adding that (recovery account change)? It would fit well within your app imo.

Ideally I would add support for the full recovery process -- setting the recoverer, requesting recovery and rejecting/fulfilling recovery. That's not a small change, but it's the kind of thing I'd like to support eventually. :)

You are the man! Well aside from @dantheman....

Thanks for your response... i would feel safe using this and changing my own keys if they will verify that for us. I think this is a breakthrough app for the security of my keys. Thank you for your time you put into this app.

Not a stupid question - this is a very good question. I am also curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34