Blissful heart. Volume I

in #steem6 years ago

IMG_20180609_021649_790.JPG
I sit here. I am in a house. I ask myself again, have I passed through yesterday's dilemma? The hurting of yesternight, I do not feel again. It is a bright new morning. Hopeful, is what I am of today. As I sit, I play a movie on my phone. Wow! This is an act, I haven't done for a while now. Every time it's either I am sitted thinking into the future or peering into it. Brooding and sulking. All by myself. The morning is still young.
IMG_20180609_021715_439.JPG
I sit here. It is a bus. I am in Owerri, a somewhat megaCity in the once beautiful state of Imo, Nigeria. It is hot and am all sweaty. This is a rough life that we are living. The whole area is in chaos, literally. What have our fathers done to this land? Is this the future they have left for us? Messy grounds, dirty gutters, no work, jobs or incomes. Which future will I live for my own unborn? I sign. I deeply breathe, taking in the mucky atmosphere, but it isn't the solution. Empathy wouldn't clean the gutters.

I am off to school. The Federal University of Technology Owerri, in Imo Nigeria. I am happy to be back here. She called me. She did, just as the bus was about to move, my phone buzzed and when I picked the call it was her voice at the other end; we spoke. She had called to tell me before hand that she was going to arrive at school today. We had an earlier discussion where I told her I will resume a day ahead of her. As things turned out, I am resuming three days behind that date. It is two days now, before that agreed date that she had earlier mentioned, before the change of minds. I guess home was beginning to be boring. No scary. Scary in the sense that school was going on and we might be far off. The thoughts of getting left behind is scary.

Well, I enjoyed the way she played with my name when I said hello to the line. Paauulll, she dragged it in a most sensual manner. My reply was husky, even though I made several attempts to douse the somewhat hoarse voice. Her voice on the other end of the line brought joy to my heart and replaced the slight frown on my face with my a plastic smile. Good girl. Oops! Did I almost spill the cat out of the bag. No, when the time is right.

Ho. Hold it right there, this is not a love story or anything of the sort. It's just the joy in my heart that makes me write so.
IMG_20180609_021836_420.JPG
I arrived Futo at about some minutes past one in the afternoon. The thought of coming down here gave me a scare but I made it, God willing I know. I have reunited with my school brothers of CBSN and I am so glad to see all of them. They kept whining me of my special interest when I was at Idakogosi ('the Western Experience'). Actually they had gotten to know about her through my post on WhatsApp. I spilled the bag there once.

Truth be told, there was nothing going on between me and her (the 'special interest'). She was just a random girl who chose to join my friend and I to take photos before our grand outing on that fateful Saturday Morning. Through the photo session we took lots and lots of pictures, even though the morning was seemingly dull. I made efforts to make the crowd happy.

Ok. I let out a term right there; idakogosi. What is idakogosi. It is not a science term but a concept that entails the conglomeration of two nouns, 'Ida' and 'Ikogosi'. Now 'Ida is short for Idanre hills which is a tourist attraction site at Idanre ( pronounced as 'Idonrair) while 'Ikogosi' is also a tourist site in Ekiti, a state in Nigeria. 'Ikogosi' is well known for its tourist attraction; the 'Ikogosi' warm spring park. Again 'Ikogosi' warm spring has some historical inclinations that date back to many years ago at a time and period when you and I, now reading this, were not existing.

This tourist site known as: 'Ikogosi'warm spring isn't just a regular geographical feature of an area that gushes out warm water. The actual marvel of this site is the basis of the fact that the spring releases warm and cold water simultaneously, and the two states of water coming out of this spring, do not mix. I can see a creasing line now forming at the topmost part of your face, that literally reveals your surprise. It is so true and I am waiting for the day to come when the Guinness Book of World records will incorporate 'ikogosi' warm spring as part of the seven wonders of the Earth. Hullah!

For the idanre hills. It is located in Idanre like I earlier said which is a place in Ondo State of Nigeria. Now allow me the privilege of your indulgence. Close your two physical eyes and imagine with your third imaginative one, a vast expanse of land. Think of your self as a tiny ant amongst multitudes of earth marble stones all surrounding you. Alas! You now have the picture of what I am about to tell you. Idanre Hills! Mountains of stones called rocks. These are what surrounds this area. The people literally live on stones. Their houses are built on rocks. Now if you can remember your Bible memory verses accurately, she will tell you that the man who builds his house on a rock is wiser than the one who builds on a sandy soil so that when the rains came, the latter was swept away by the storm. Use your imagination and you could accurately describe; what type of people, the people of Idanre are.
a.jpg
Let us now go back to the very start. The conglomeration of the two places that later formed Idakogosi. This new word became the title of a very successful tour, all glory be to God. The event was scheduled for the 10th of May 2018. The day for our departure. We got into the majestic vehicle and the ever competent Futo bus driver engaged gears, we left. We arrived at about some minutes past ten o'clock in the evening to pounce, on a really delicious meal of beans porridge, cooked in the Yoruba style of Nigeria. Lovely is the word to describe this sumptuous meal that was elegantly garnished with pieces of meat fried to the tastings and liking of all.

That was just day one of a five day event. I enjoyed myself.

Ugh, was the sigh I uttered just as I was awaken by the meticulous cry of the morning alarm, Henry. Whom my ears became readily accustomed to as he took this pious duty religiously. It was day two. We bathed, brushed the teeth, creamed the skin and the over one hundred and sixty (160) tourists started off to Olumirin waterfalls right in Ondo State. Waterfalls, I made no mistakes, lot of waterfalls in just one place. What a cheat! Fun it was to say the least, you should have being there, amongst our midst. We let the waters flow through our clothings, took happy pictures climbed about 50 steps to reach the other waterfalls all for the fun. It was glorious. Fun ecstasy, this feeling I still get weeks, even after the event and now, even as I write. That was day two of my five days Western Experience, 'Idakogosi' 2018.

Saturday wasn't so glorious as you might have guessed. The thought of going to the main tourist site for our vacation brought joy, but the event we saw made our eyes weary and sour. The bus broke down. What a giant fall of a mighty work of man! Stranded, but still in Ondo. We wasted hours tending and mending a somewhat dead engine. Missing out on what should have been another fun seeking adventure. No problem, fate always has a way of protecting those in whom she loves. I have no experience what sharing. Day Three so lone to forget.

Day four. A Sunday. What a joyous day for the Lord. A day of celebrations. Praises and worship all for this day of joy. Today seemed promising right from the start. It was my epic day in the Idakogosi calendar. The Mass celebration was at Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo state. This school is beauty bestowed to behold. Well arranged, elegant flowers appropriately placed. Nothing like Futo. It was just a College. Yoruba beats to the hymns of the Catholic songs. We danced. Lo, I danced. I literally, just danced. I was so happy. The monster happiness in me was unleashed to the glory of the Lord.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pauledozie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13