You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Most of my friends haven't joined Steemit despite not being skeptical

in #steem7 years ago

€6 would get feck all in Dublin, but in some countries €6 a day would make an incredible difference.

I have been trying to convince my husband to give it a try. Not to sure about sending my following. Its taken 7 years of hard work to grow my online following. If I send them here and they don't like it, i could lose them. And right now, i make more from them on my own platform that what I make here. So this leaves me a with a delema. I have already found a drop in traffic to my site since I stated posting here. This is because I am note as active on social medial for my own site as I have been.

But if people are new to blogging, then steemit is the platform to begin on. No costs to get started where as with a WP site, at least the cost of hosting is needed to get started.

Social proof in any online industry is a must for success....so when I grow here, i will then start to send my online following of over 40K people.....lets hope I grow here....

Sort:  

Have you ever read "The Innovator's Dilemma"? Your case sounds so similar to the central dilemma in that book, although that's talking about the scale of large firms.

If you've already got some success monetizing your following, then Steemit makes a compelling but difficult case. Some people have hundreds of thousands of followers and struggle to make anything from it. If you're not making money from your existing following the decision is easier, because even transitioning a fraction of them to Steemit could put them among the top followed posters here, and the revenue would follow that.

No I have never read this book. I will add it to the list.

Yes I do monetize my following, and I blog often so google are good to me. the concern would be losing this momentum that I have taken years to grow.....

But watch this space, cos with the online world, things can change very fast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48