Promoting steem at the Online Excel Summit

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

The other day I recorded my session for the Online Excel Summit hosted by Sohail Anwar.  This is a charity event and there are currently over 5000 people registered to attend.   As you would imagine the topic is Microsoft Excel.  However, it didn’t take me long to rant on about other stuff.  Most notably the steem blockchain. 

The interview was very smooth. Sohail did an amazing job and his questions all fitted in nicely.  We spoke about my career as an Accountant and how that led me to Excel and the skills gap among Accountants within Excel.  This, in turn, led me onto a controversial ramble on the role of the Accountant.  A ramble I have had many times with other Accountants.  So much so, some time ago I made a video talking about the role of an accountant v’s the role of a finance person.  

But back to the interview. We talked about Excel some more and the need to be data-aware before Sohail asked me about my Excel Learn and Earn Activities.  But I couldn’t explain my Learn and Earn Activities without explaining steem and steemit and the blockchain.  

I talk about the problems web2 poses me as a content creator and why I was looking for an alternative.  I explained how steem the blockchain overcomes these problems.  I talked about steemit.com being the first app built on the block.  I told my story of starting here and blogging about Excel and then flipping the skills to analyze the blockchain data.  I then went into how steem has now transformed from a blockchain with one app to a blockchain with something for everyone.  I mentioned 3speak as an alternative to Youtube, connecting Fitbit to Actifit, and of course, you can even take part in Excel Learn and Earn activities

I blew his mind.  Well, at least that was his response.  'Cutting edge' was another term he used.  I'm excited to see this summit run and although I was promoting myself as an Excel influencer, I think I stood out more as a steem ambassador. 

Anyway, why don’t you sign up for the Online Excel Summit?  That way, you can check out the interview yourself.  I would love to show the world steem has a supportive community.  😊  You can sign up with this link   https://excelonlinesummit.com/ 


Sort:  

🎁 Hi @paulag! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

Check out @melinda010100 blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

thanks @markkujantunen, I went on for ages. I hope the audience finds it as interesting as the host did.

Great one @paulag!
I think in general Steem can be used a lot in educational purposes.

For example some academy have some SP, and it rewards students with upvotes (grades) for the homework/tests it has given to them, and they have submitted trough the blockchain in form of a post. Open and transparent.

With tribes they can even have their own clean interface and their token :)

certificates of completion can also be stored on the blockchain. there is so much we can do with steem. I wish I had time to do more and move faster

thank you very much @paragism

Hi @paulag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.559 which ranks you at #158 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great promotion efforts! You are a wonderful and knowledgeable Steem ambassador. !tip and shared on Twitter

#posh @ocd
https://esteem.app/steem/@paulag/promoting-steem-at-the-online-excel-summit

thank you so much for both the tip and the share. steem has a wonderful business application for existing bloggers and the Excel community is massive. I am so waiting for communities and I hope to bring a much of the community as possible to steem. This was a great opportunity to introduce the Excel community to steem and just bring about some awareness. I'm really excited to find out how many people watch my slot.

That is exciting. I wouldn't be surprised to see a wide public release of communities here in the next week or so, and if all goes as planned, open beta shortly after.

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 51000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97