Sort:  

Yeah I dont get it either,shouldnt these things be not allowed? It doesnt improve the quality of writing in any way, or? Im quite new to Steemit so maybe im missing something here?

Bots are part of the system of Steemit for now. Some bots allow you to purchase its upvote in exchange for a fee. You could do the same thing by offering me money for my upvote. The bots are just automated.

I wasn't really getting into whether or not bots should be allowed. The witnesses have a lot more say in that than I do. I was merely trying to give you a cost analysis so that if you were considering using a voting bot that you would be more information. I saw a bot the other day that gave 2.1x upvotes, but from my analysis now you know that it's not profitable for you.

There is no substitute for well-written articles and good networking. Keep after it! Hope that helps.

@themanwithnoname thanks I totally got the point of your post. I guess I'm just a bit frustrated seeing people "playing the system" while not perse generating the best content. We're not living in a perfect world :) I fully agree that good writing and networking will pay off in the long run. Or at least that's what I hope :D Thanks again for sharing!

@michelmake—I've not been around here long enough to qualify to say what I'm going to say (I haven't even been here a month yet, don't know what oldtimers have been through, don't know much about the behind the scenes, let alone been a part of any of the discussion or excruciatingly tough decision making process), but I'm going to say it anyway—

As a platform dedicated to rewarding original quality content, Steemit sure does a great job of rewarding and facilitating the exact opposite, while making it virtually impossible (there's my own ray of hope shining through) of ever 'making it' without using bots and/or somehow currying favor with a whale/orca/dolphin. You might actually have to do it all at once.

I know, I'm sounding like the paranoid guy with the tinfoil hat, but what I just said is sincerely meant to be an observation of reality much more than it is meant to deflate or act as a warning.

I'm still here, after all, posting and commenting and upvoting. :)

Thanks for sharing your thought! I guess you are right. Although, I still have good hopes to somehow get there without. Even though It might take much longer. Haha perhaps in a few weeks from now I will have a totally different view, who knows. I'm also very fresh to the platform :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43