You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Demystifying STEEM: Voting and Rewards

in #steem4 years ago

I liked this article a lot. But I've been on steem for a year and a half now. As simply as this is written, and for the first time ever I understood every single word (thank you!), I know as a newbie a lot of it would have made no sense to me at all.

I have some questions about RC - do newbies who have invested nothing get both 10 100% upvotes and RC that gets depleted when they post or comment? Is a comment the same "weight" as a blog post?

There are days I have so many obligations to upvote that I really have to use the slider or my vp tanks as low as 70%

Thanks for putting all this together. It answered a number of my questions and should be valuable to anyone, especially newbies.

Is this Tron business really going to change these very basic things a lot? Seems like most of this has been somewhat consistent as long as I have been here, with minor changes.

Sort:  

do newbies who have invested nothing get both 10 100% upvotes and RC that gets depleted when they post or comment?

At 15SP they will run into RC trouble quite fast. Yes, they get the 10 100% upvotes like us though. At 0SP they will have problems doing just about anything due to RC issues. In theory, they can still vote the 10 x 100% votes.

Is a comment the same "weight" as a blog post?

Hmmm, that's a good one. Maybe it is, but due to the curve, it won't appear the same. The number of vests generated by the vote may be equal but I can't say for certain.

There are days I have so many obligations to upvote that I really have to use the slider or my vp tanks as low as 70%

You have 1440 usable SP so your vote will yield curation rewards now, even at 40-50%. The example is for 15SP peeps.

Is this Tron business really going to change these very basic things a lot?

Your guess is as good as mine. Until things settle down I won't be writing any more of these. It could all change tomorrow.

Hey thanks for your response! I really appreciate it! I've found it kind of hard to get answers to my simple questions, and when I attend meetings of big wigs, I have no idea what they are talking about.
Now that I've read some more about the hullaballoo, I see how unsettling it all is. Egads I wish things would stay the same, or change more slowly around here. I feel like I am always playing information catch up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62