What a day

in #steem7 years ago

I logged on today to find about 10 -20 replies to a post I didn't create. Most of the posts were saying that I was being cited for plagiarism and being downvoted. I had no idea of what was happening. It appears that I clicked on a post for 'glitch in steem', it prompted me to re-login (which I did). I guess when I did this (re-login) my posting key was stolen. Someone had hi-jacked my account. I did some searching to find out how to correct this. I tried to change my password and it would give me an error saying that I was missing my owner's key. I tried to complete the 'account recovery' and it would throw an error saying that the password hadn't been use in the last 30 days.

I followed a link on the cheetah comment and went to steemit chat. I had to create an account. I understand that it is separate site from steemit.com. I received excellent help from @Sozjo and @reggaemuffin on how to change the password and recover my account.

I am now in the process of trying to erase the damage done by the hi-jacker. I've received a lot of help from @nnnarvaez and @patrice.

If you vote for a witness, please keep these people in mind. They saved my bacon.

My intent for this post is so that I may prevent this from happening to others. Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Here is a post giving some background and pointing to a great tutorial to protect yourself now.

Please RS so more people is aware and we are all safe.


And remember:

Whoa! Thanks for sharing this!

Hey how ya doing? I'm on that learning curve. Have a good day.

Glad you are safe now 😊

Thank you for you help, it was very much appreciated. You got my vote for a witness. Have a good day.

Congratulations @outwalking! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61