You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of Memes

in #steem6 years ago

Here again with my spattering of disorganized input 😀

Communication: I believe we create memes for the same reason we use and create emoji: to try to add non-verbal aspects of the meaning we hope to communicate.

Sometimes I think we make them and share them just for comedic value.

On the copyright issue, if a meme uses a picture in a way that changes or criticizes the meaning, it is a new work under copyright. For instance, a photo of Donald Trump with a Taco Tupe is fair use. Many cases are built to why that is, and photographers (myself included) just need to accept that their ownership is belief based and while protected in some cases by the government; in the absence of government to protect it, it would only exist in belief- kind of like Santa Clause.

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy copyright exists while it does. Heyyyy I'm getting paid. But I'm not attached to the concept.

Memes I think have value as a meme simply due to covalue. Similarly, the Steem blockchain often expresses it defines value as that which multiple others validate. Self-validating and buying validation doesn't count in the same way some people don't believe self-love is really possible and all love is only extrinsic.

I personally see self-love as validating. Likewise, I believe something has value to ME even if I alone see value in it.

Side question of if copy and pasting a meme alone to share it on the blockchain is, in itself, contributing valuable content: I would say, yes. However, not to me! But to someone!

I certainly would see value if a meme creator of an original meme made one of their own and posted it to the blockchain for the first time.

I certainly see value in adding memes, emojis, pictures, gifs, and other sensory data to a communicative piece to bring meaning, tone, depth, and other factors to help with the content being comprehended the way it is intended to by the author of the post.

So to me, it's not that they're used, but how I guess. I'm also open for argument of all sides on how people feel about the various aspects of using them, making them, etc.

I personally use gifs, emoji, pictures, etc. in my posts for the purpose of adding non-verbal nuances to my posts. Maybe it's because I'm insecure about my writing or ability to organize ideas? Very possibly. Its not out of laziness though. And I admit, I'm a visual learner, and I have sensory differences than neurotypical persons.

Sort:  

As always excellent points Omi... I guess the main thing to extrapolate out of this is the "tool" analogy, the use and misuse of said tool.

To make my case a little stronger, let me present some ugly evidence.

This same image was shared a million times before the post and I'm sure its been shared a million more times. @dmania gave it $33 SBD ... with that your honor, I rest my case.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46