How you found out about STEEM ?

in #steem8 years ago

Hi there !

I thought It would be fun to see communnity members sharing their stories on how they found STEEM on the first place so I will start (My story may sound dumb little bit though) .

I'm on the crypto currency world since late 2014 (I started reading and asking a lot of questions about Bitcoin since August 2014 till November of the same year).

When I got answers about almost every question I have , I decided to make a new fresh account on Bitcointalk because the one I was using was kinda low quality because of all the spammy and dumb questions I asked .

Since then , I start contributing to the community and once I reached a decent rank on the forums , I enrolled into signature campaigns and started making Bitcoin and holding , I knew that bitcoin is something revolutionary and I couldn't take the risk to spend them and cry later (like what happened to the Pizza guy

I'm getting there guys , be patient ...

Few days ago , I decided to take a pause from the crypto currency world (still checking Bitcointalk from time to time) and see what's going to happen next with the halving block reward [Till now , nothing happened yet] so I decided to install Steam again and start playing CS:GO as there is nothing to do (summer is kinda boring) and while googling to get the Steam page , I misstyped STEAM and wrote Steem and here is w hat I got :

and since I'm someone who is already in the crypto currency world , I entered the link and the Coinmarketcap link and I was amazed how STEEM got this marketcap and how I didn't hear about it before that , didn't pay much intention to it since I thought It's just another alternative coin based on manipulations .

In the same day , I was on Bitcointalk and while checking the "Show unread posts since last visit. " I saw a thread about STEEM so I simply decided to read more about it and here I'am basically ... I just liked it .

I'm not sure how STEEM is going to beat REDDIT or Facebook but It definitely has potentials .

I'd like to hear what are your stories and how you out about STEEM guys !

Sort:  

it is funny,but it is not easy to use.sometimes I cannot seach special topics.

I couldn't disagree that It's not that simple to understand it so I'm not sure how successful it's going to be , because most of people out there aren't crypto currency users so It may be hard for them to start

I learned about it in the news on extra.torrent cause there was news the currency just exploded.

Same here :-)
I also found out about steemit.com on extratorrent.

What a coincidence!

actually on reddit. I am already strong into cryptocurrencies. I am holding Ether, Bitcoin and hopefully some Steem .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43