STEEMIT PRE-HARDFORK20 TOTAL BLACKOUT- WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED? WE WANT STEEM COMPENSATIONS FOR ALL ACTIVE USERS😊!

in #steem6 years ago

Screenshot_20180917-132420.jpg


What is happening right now, hf20 or back to hf19?

Many like me still cannot wrap our heads round why there was a complete lockout on the steem Blockchain some hours ago, a whole lot of users had to rely on Twitter to get updates, while some stayed close to Discord. Not very good for business many have claimed, what was going through my mind was, how the hell did it happen?

Just a week ago for the next Hardfork with theme- Velocity, as we all awaits the changes that this upgrade would bring to the Steem Eco-system, and then something strange happened. At first I was mad at my internet connectivity not knowing this was beyond my power, then I tried using other Dapps built on the Steem Blockchain which is where I came to realise that it was from the nodes.

Talking about nodes, aren’t the witnesses supposed to handle that part? I mean the difference between me an ordinary user and them is that they handle the techy parts of steemit and print (mine) the two tokens backing the project up and also they get paid hugely for it. Yes they get paid, I use to think it is some community service but my orientation changed along the line.

DDOS was my fear at first, but then a tweet from SteemDevs on Twitter confirmed it wasn’t an attack but not stating what the actual problem was, not even the proposed upgrade locks users out for almost a day. I have been on steemit long enough to witness at least two Hardforks and it was nothing compared to what happened earlier.

As a minnow, I have no say; only the whales, Dolphins and Witnesses calls the shots here and other users are just spectators (so we have been told multiple times). So this is not a matter of been entitled or feeling privileged, since there was no official reason why we all got locked out and then giving us the scares of attacks on our tiny little steems/Steempower; I propose Steemit.Inc and the witness compensate all users. The method used by Byteball team to distribute their airdrops could be implemented.

But then again, minnows don’t have a say; only a few does and this call for compensation might be considered foolish. Maybe more of it will still happen, who knows; but this is a bad business for going mainstream I must say!

Sort:  

The problem was that a blockchain dev used "seconds" when they should have have used "hours". It was just a programming error.

Wow

That was a costly mistake, thanks for the explanation friend.

The blockchain stops when there's a critical issue. That's designed that way to prevent it from forking. It's not a bad thing. No one regardless of how big their account is can do much about it; that's just how Dan designed it and it's a key feature.

Finally some technical explanations i need, many thanks @guiltyparties

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97