You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Account Gift Certificates Idea

in #steem7 years ago

You're thinking of paper wallets. Instead of a nonce, the gift certificate would have a private key for a new Steemit account with a balance corresponding to the stated value on the cert.

Given how Steemit works, it would be more complicated than for a regular cryptocurrency but it could be done.

Sort:  

Ok. Perhaps I'm not familiar with the terminology, but I was thinking that after it was used it would expire. In this way the recipient would know that the accounts keys weren't already compromised, when they received them. I do have a lot to learn about this stuff though, so thanks for the link.

In Win administration, and I think most Linux Distros, you can prompt the user to change their password at next login. Applying that same policy here, would secure the account.

That's true, but I guess to setup the account in advance, the account name would need to be specified rather than allowing the recipient to choose their own preferred name. The implementation would be much easier though.

Glad to! It took me a long time before I learned, too. We can't all be cryptography experts. :)

@nxtblog I am certainly no IT expert and proudly remind people daily LOL

Dropped by to say thanks for the vote today it is appreciated.

Commented here on the idea in the post too. Very neat idea.

Have a good one and thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47