You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 24 Hours Later: Thoughts on Steem So Far - Charlie Shrem

in #steem8 years ago

It's been fascinating to see the emotional negative response from the Bitcoin community regarding Steem. Bitcoiners are quicker to call other altcoins a scame than bankers are to call Bitcoin a scam these days.

I'm not sure the psychology behind it other than the fact that when you are really early and really deep in something, you tend to want to dismiss other people that are working on something related but different. It seems bitcoiners have some cognitive biases against Steem and other altcoins right now, though my guess is that will change.

I've been experimenting with the platform quite a bit and I think there's a lot of great things and also some potential problems. I wrote about it here: https://www.getrevue.co/profile/control/issues/control-issue-5-20293

Sort:  

banks are calling bitcoin a scam
bitcoin is colling steem a scam
anarchists are calling banks and fiat currency a scam

Everything is a scam. Send me 19.97 in STD and I'll tell you how to avoid scams! :D

How does one monetize an STD

There are exchanges you can sell STD's and get bitcoins and even change it into USD's.

:D

That @jsteck humor misses the mark again.

Find corrupt politician and repeat process

Am a massive bicoiner and am very excited about steem. I don't see them in competition.

I'm glad to hear such opinions.

It's worth noting that for many people Steem Dollars will be the easiest bridge currency to Bitcoin. So the success of Steem Dollar will mean having an easy on and off-ramp for Bitcoin. Those two can nicely coexist and support each other.

yes so exciting it seems like real synergies exist the more we all need each other to be OPEN

exactly at least for the time being they are both helping each other do the necessary leg work to make this self - sustaining they are hedges against each other like FOREX is now we are the forex of the universe!!!!

I think the community needs more help with good services in general, the industry has big goals but it can't do everything by itself or a select few players.

The main point to remember, and I had this same discussion with people who were anti Ripple, Ethereum and others, is: "It is not a competition". New innovations improve all digital apps and decentralized software. We are all on the same side!

Hot damn ... always great when I read that, especially from someone who has been in the crypto game from the start.

All on the same ride exactly =)

I've debated other bitcoiners on their use of the word scam, and found when it comes down to it, by their own use of the word 'scam', bitcoin itself is a scam.

I'm a Bitcoin purist and I get wary about new things as well, but prison has taught me life is too short to not explore every opportunity. I'm going to make my own decision and not take someone else's

Bitcoiners are quicker to call other altcoins a scame than bankers are to call Bitcoin a scam these days.

So true.

The more Bitcoin is negative the better for us I see it :)

Just letting you know there are a number of us BTC supporters who are holding big AND support STEEM. Steemit.com can do what BTC can't and vice versa. It's not all "us vs them"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46