You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The person behind your Steem

in #steem6 years ago

I just want to speak on this a little:

This is also why the chat channels are so important as it is in there that personality behind the posts is often developed.
Asides the steemit platform, the various chat channels/medium like discord and telegram offer a more interpersonal relationship amongst steemians. Joining discord was one of the best things that happened to me after joining steemit because it give me the opportunity to interact with other steemian, prior to that time when whole steem journey was lonely.

As I see it, Steem is a way to close this gap again, to put the person back into the content and a chance to reconnect relationships between more than just the facade.

I think this will achievable if we can get rid of the spammers and bots(I've used one of those). Honestly, I believe there are more bots than people on steemit and this might end up ruining this platform. We need real people interacting with other people. This platform was made for humans and not robots.
'identity' and 'personality' are somewhat similar. Well the former deals with how you are perceived, the latter is who you are. One can be fabricated, the other cannot. Like you mentioned, this is one of the issues on social media today-- people are trying to portray an imagine and not their true self. Steemit can reconcile both. As interaction on this platform and it's subsets allows for a more personal touch. Unlike other social platform, steemit doesn't ride majorly on trends. This always the expression of thoughts as it's not patterned by trends.

Sort:  

Honestly, I believe there are more bots than people on steemit and this might end up ruining this platform.

There aren't but, there are more alts and inactive accounts than active users.

I don't see identity or personality as who we are as both change over time and often, significantly. People identify with all kinds of things, their personality changes with the winds of experience. If we change, are we still us?

yes both change, but I think an identity can be engineered, just like banning it has to do with public perspection. whilst your personality can change given your knowledge and experience, its more generic. I might identify with a certain group or concept today to change people's perception, but my personality is a reflection of my inner self, irrespective of what might happen within there will still be certain level of coherence in my behsvioural pattern, well, expect in cases of traumatic events where an individual's core/essence is scattered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68