You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Petition to Demand Steem be made fully Open Source

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Competition is good.

Do you know why Facebook is still the biggest player in Social Media? There are hundreds of better implemented platform, with better functionalities... but Facebook is still the biggest, because it succeeded with onboarding people.

The most difficult thing about creating a social media platform is... creating a community and critical mass of those users.

We - community - are the reason why Steem is working. Our feedback, our activity, our work, our marketing.

If Steem will be forked, that would be actually great. Another scenarios could be tested. We could learn much faster what is working (then we could merge those features back to Steem) and learn from mistakes of other forks.

Without Dan being on-board or at least Steem being open-licenced, I will power down my STEEM. I am not sure, whether I will sell it immediately, but right now I can image that, what was impossible Yesterday, before Dan resigned.

Sort:  

I actually agree with you, I haven't thought of selling since everything I have is earned, but why not with all the issues seemingly increasing in magnitude, without offering true conversation and resolution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88