You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A writer’s guide to making money on the STEEM blockchain – for beginners

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Thanks David, I was about to start posting some things here so this guide comes in handy :D. I'm not really looking to earn money, since writing will be more a hobby than anything else, but I wrote in a personal blog some time ago with close to 0 visibility. What is attractive to me here is the concept of being valued by the "content". I guess it will be releasing to crickets anyways, since you mentioned the whales and minnows, but at least there is some community here.

Saying that, I have two questions I hope you can help me with:

  • What do you think about cross-posting? I was thinking on also publishing on Medium and of course keep the original posts in my blog. Is there any real down-side to that? Other than possibly splitting any comments in different platforms? Keeping in mind my only real goal is to have my post read, more than earning money. Should I still link to the post in my website?

  • Being this published on a blockchain, which I understand is unmutable, does that mean you cannot edit the post? For example, I also comment to tell you that the link you have to the podcast with Ned Scott is broken. I guess you just missed something when copy-pasting. Can you fix that or will that be kept broken forever?

[Edit: I just edited this comment so I guess you can really edit content]

Sort:  

Hey Noel! Here's what I think:

Cross-posting is totally okay in my book. Some people read on Steemit. Some people read on Medium. Others may subscribe to your RSS feed. Think of it like how if you released an album, you'd want it on Spotify and Apple Music and CD, because people have their preferences. Yes, it's inconvenient to keep up with comments, but it all depends what your goals are. Despite the fact that I'm responding to this comment, I personally don't stress about getting to every single one.

I've recently even been RE-publishing old stuff on Medium. This is common practice by people like James Altucher and Benjamin Hardy. Sometimes I even re-publish old stuff on Medium under their partner program, and I earn money that way. It's great, since I didn't earn money on the original post. I haven't found anything in their partnership agreement that prohibits this practice.

I haven't re-published on Steemit, but now that I think of it in theory it would be okay. Both Medium and Steemit have voting systems to democratize the success of good content. If people have seen it before (and don't appreciate the reminder), that would be reflected in the success of the posts.

As you saw, you can still edit content. I don't know much about the technical aspects of blockchains, but I believe that your original post is on there, as well as a record of what was edited. So, that's the part that's immutable.

Awesome information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45