I Told My Dad About Steemit, But He Didn't Believe It

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I just joined Steemit a few days ago and I have been enjoying my journey already. So I tried to promote Steemit among the people near me. I pursued one of my friends to join steemit today. And I thought why not try it with my dad.

My dad is a secondary level school teacher.  He is mostly occupied 10 to 4 and other times as well. So I though it would be great for him too as he could get some break from the hectic life and enjoy in a different world on Steemit. I thought it would be great for him to interact with people with different thoughts and share his thoughts as well. My dad is my first best friend. So I went ahead and told him about Steemit. And to my surprise he didn't believe me. (Damn I am too bad at convincing)

I tried to pursue him with the good aspects of Steemit. I told him that you get paid if people think your post is actually interesting. I even tried to tell him about the cryptocurrency and blockchain and how it is regulated in the internet. Then he was like" Does money grow on internet or comes from air? If it was so easy to earn money then people would actually be hitting the keyboards and not doing so much of hard works." He thought it as some scam and I was wasting my time on it. He even backfired me to spend my time in some worthy activities rather than these so called paying communities.

The following meme is just for fun LOL

When I first discovered Steemit I wasn't actually surprised. I had already been blogging in other platforms and been learning about cryptocurrencies as well. So I had hoped that he'll for sure join and even be active in this community. But its actually not surprising to be skeptical for someone who is not well aware about the cryptocurrencies. He asked me to show some proofs if I had made even a penny with it. I said I will show you when I have enough to make payout of. One day I'm sure I'll prove him wrong. 

I am enjoying my days on Steemit. Its great to share your story and read others. Its true that there are some sites that are filled with thrash and fool people. This had made people more skeptical about the good sites like steemit. But I am sure I will pursue some other friends to join steemit. If I love love it, I'm sure there are other people in my circle as well who'll love it. And I will try to pursue my dad when I had proofs on how it works.

Thank you for reading my experience. If there's such an experience with you as well please share in the comments below. If you know a way to convince someone about Steemit share that as well.  

Sort:  

Lots of people feel the same way your dad felt when it comes to things like steemit and cryptocurrencies but they will believe you once you show them some prove.

Yes and I'm sure I'd able to show some proofs soon.

Hello @neupanedipen, welcome to Steemit and I can see you grow very fast, good for you. I had the same situation with lots of skeptical remarks when I tried to explain about steemit. But we are okay, we are a growing community here and since SBD is getting more stronger in the market now, we are sure gonna be very very famous soon. Oh ya, congrats on winning @rexusmo's challenge. Very good of him with a challenge that motivates steemians to post good article. :)

Hey! Thank you very much for your comment. It really feels great here on Steemit just because of people like you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69