Cryptocurrency Deserted Island: Choose Five Cryptocurrencies To Survive!

in #steem7 years ago

We've all played desert island before. Which three books, movies, people, etc... would you take with you if you were stuck on a deserted island. Today's twist included one of steemit's favorite topics: cryptocurrency.

If you could only choose five cryptocurrencies and the rest would cease to exist tomorrow, which five would you choose?

Here are my answers, add yours in the comments below!

Bitcoin
I went back and forth between Bitcoin and Ethereum, but ultimately landed on the granddaddy of them all. Continuity and all that.

Steem
This was a no-brainer, of course. Changing from a Facebook-driven world to a Steem-powered universe isn't easy, but once people realize the incentives to switch I think we'll start to see the exodus pick up.

Bitshares
Although it is kind of like asking a genie for more wishes, Bitshares' ability to create UIA's gives this new world some flexibility. Also, I'm a sucker for the graphene blockchain. Peerplays - the new graphene sibling on the block - just missed the cut here.

Gridcoin
With other cryptocurrencies out of the picture, think of all the excess computing power that would drive scientific research. The possibilities are quite literally endless. Also, the price of Gridcoin shot through the roof today (100%+), so a few people may agree with me.

VIVA
VIVA has a long way to go before becoming a world-changing currency, but the premise of universal basic income is there. If the details all get ironed out by the crownholders, the future is bright. VIVA is very different than traditional cryptocurrencies - it behaves a lot like fiat - but the reasoning is sound.

Honorable Mentions
ETH, DASH, LBRY, PPY

Your turn... sell me on why your favorite Crypto's should make the cut!

Sort:  

Hmm, I'll go with Bitcoin, Etherium, Litecoin, Steem and VIVA.

Ask this again in a year and I wonder if we'll all be giving some different answers!

in no particular order bitcoin, steem, dash, ethereum,..and maybe ripple? lol

Bitcoin - Although the technology is outdated and they face some issues it is something to be the first to the market
Steem - changing the social media game!
ETH - Vitalik is a guru. enough said.
Factom - the data security and ability to safeguard data.
Gridcoin - The fact that excess computer power runs it awesome! I sold a 1/3rd little early today. Hoping to buy back in once it comes down!

BTC, GNO, STEEM, BTS, BURST

Steem, of course, to keep my mind active. Ark so that I can use multiple other cryptocurrencies (once the smart bridge is released). Bit Bean, which will give me the illusion that I am growing food while on the island. Dogecoin, since I can get a lot of them. Finally, Waves because I am on an island and it seems like a good fit.

BTC ZEC STEEM LTC ETH

Some really good info in here! Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97