When a 5$ post is really worth 115$

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem citizens, I read a post by @talanhorne :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@talanhorne/you-ve-got-to-stay-during-the-bad-times

I got inspired..I agree with the post of course, so I went back and looked at one of my posts made during the "lean" times.

This one:

https://steemit.com/cyberpunk/@neoxian/cyberpunk-music-conga-fury-animatrix-edit-by-juno-reactor

It's nothing special, just a cool song from the Matrix, I posted it and got a little lucky and made 5.45$ No big deal right? It's nice, but it's just 5.45$. Note that the post was fully powered up 100%, so I was rewarded in pure steem power.

I have never powered down, so any Steem power that post made I still have.

I have never powered down. Ever!

So how much steem power did that post make?

Let's see:

There are two payouts. This is back in the old days when posts used to pay out after about one day and the second time after a month.

So it looks like I made 1.9 + 31.8 SP = 33.7 SP !

How much is that worth today? 33 * 3.50 usd =

About 115 USD !

I lowballed the steem price a bit in case it drops down before people read this post. (It's actually about 3.80 usd)

What point am I trying to make? That I'm cool, yea we all know that, but what I'm really trying to say is that I stuck with Steem during the lean times, when the price got as low as 8 cents. By being patient and continuing to post and participate, I was able to scoop up a bunch of steem on the cheap. Imagine being paid 115 usd just for posting a cool song, but that's what happened.

Neoxian-FINAL-FRAME2.gif

Sort:  

Look at steem before, currently, and in the future.

STEEM in the future will get a bigger value so holding it and not powering down is a wise move if we believe in this platform and technology.

Steemit will continue to grow as the Alexa rank shows

https://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/steemit.com

I see you always benefited by your amazing multiplication theory. that's not everyone's thinking about it. can i take this source for my post?

Thanks sir

Slow and steady wins the race.
Irritating as cliches can be, most often they are true.
I have to control my emotions and hang in there.
Thanks for a very pertinent example.

Wow! 33.7SP!!! Ok, I make that in 2 months... if I'm lucky. Hahaha... Granted that I'm not hardworking nor really consistent and your post shall inspire :)

I am still learning about the powering up & powering down. What happens when we ‘power down’ & do you suggest any articles for it?

When you power down, your steem power is turned back into steem. This happens over a 13 week period, each week you will get 1/13th of your steem power turning into steem. You can stop it anytime, and power back up any steem right away.

Thank you.. and does powering up give our account more value when we upvote or resteem
Others?

Powering up makes your vote stronger, so yes, you will be able to give people more money when you vote, and your flags will take more money. Your witness vote becomes more powerful too. It has no direct effect on resteems.

Wonderful..: thank you. So if people flag my content more of a % gets taken?

Flagging is just like upvoting, but in reverse.

Excellent!! It’s like ‘down voting’ I guess which also means less visible; I am assuming.

I saw some weird hate based post towards lgbt/transgender stuff (not overt)... but it kind of scared me a bit... and made me look at how much privacy this space offers (not a lot apparently).

There is almost no privacy on the blockchain. Every action you take, whether it's with money, or voting, posting commenting..everything is fully visible on the blockchain.

There is one small exception: you can encrypt the memo when you send a payment by putting a "#" in front of it. Then only the receiver can see the memo.

Do people know who have ‘flagged’ them?

Makes me wounder what payouts will be like when there is 20 million users. Will there be a new structure or power ups?

20 million users and half of them will be bots.

Hey that's still 10 million humans ;)

This is an excellent article. I have been blogging away for 18 months. Not getting a lot of attention and hodling. There are some who are better bloggers, but I understand compounding interest... That isn't exactly what we get here, but the principle is the same.

Interesting analysis.

And you seem to be very good at keeping records

That you could remember a post of 11 months ago and how much you made from it just to drive a point is phenomenal.

Thanks for the advice for us to be patient and consistent in posting just like you did.

Cheers @neoxian

It pays to be patience for sure.. This is great .. I don't have any reason to give up..
Thanks for this great piece

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84