No Exit? Will Poloniex's problems be the death of Steemit?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)


Dissappointment.PNG

Ive been with Steemit over a year, but I only just yesterday opened a Poloniex account to remove a small amount. I followed the directions I had to the letter, fortunately I sent them only 1 SBD as a trial run. I was alarmed to find this message on Poloniex.

steem_poloniex.PNG

I'm not much for subtext but it looks as if they blame the "Steem team" for the issue.

I knew Poloniex was having problems, I just did not know this was one of them. As a Steemit member this concerns me. Correct me if I am wrong but that has been the sole method of removing Steem. I've always seen this as a weakness for Steem and Steemit. All new cryptocurrencies have such issues. Without an exchange, these numbers are just points, there is no "real value". After all, I cannot eat a Steem Based Dollar.

Seriously, If one cannot get Steem to an exchange, Steemit becomes just a run of the mill social network. Judged that way, its not even a very mature Social Network at that. Perhaps it was premature for creators to start other projects in light of this weakness. The Steemit community deserves the best Social Networks has to offer.

Until this is corrected two actions should be taken immediately.

  1. Stop promoting Steemit as a place where content creators get paid. That's not happening right now.
  2. Hide all indications of a dollar value attributed to posts. This is an illusion anyway, and disingenuous at best, and a deception at worst.

As users of Steemit we should demand better. Perhaps in protest we should use other tipping methods like Reddcoin or Changetip.

In the mean time anyone want to trade some Steem for Iota. That's all I wanted to do in the first place.

By the way, if I saved you some heartache, or a headache, send me a tip at the address below. It turns out your upvote doesn't help so much after all.

TIP
BTC 16pXTLbhfb6jRTQeyJxxY9N6U43xGtgyMu
ETH 0x349824dd52f5610c0c52ad21e39c51cdd37c4135
DSH XbCcS8gZVpi4QyevntKY6xgG12AaExUbQu

Sort:  

Hey @neopatriarch. I'm still new here, and have seem the trouble Poloniex has given a lot of poeple here. I don't think it's the only way out though. I have been playing around a bit amd got some SBD out through Bittrex and am trading a bit on their exchange. I've also seen some SBD being sent out through Blocktrades. Hopefully you can get what you need through them as well. Hope this info helps a bit. That's all I know for now.

How do you get your Steem to Bittrex? If you could provide a link to step by step instructions that would be great. Thanks for your quick response.

First step is to create yourself a Bittrex account. When that is done go to your wallets and find Steem Dollars (SBD) and click the + to make a deposit. The first time you do this you will have to generate a memo key for you SBD wallet.

Now you go back to you Steemit wallet amd select to transfer SBD to your Bittrex wallet. You transfer to bittrex , enter the amount of SBD, and copy/paste the key from Bittrex into the memo field, and submit.

Heads up: Bittrex SBD and Steem wallets are also under maintenance, but drom my experience it doesn't stay like that for long. Transfer can also take a while to go throigh, but I have had mine within a few minutes when I tried.

Hope this helps.

Okay, I signed up on Bittrex...but there not handling Steem or SBD today. I looked up instructions on Steemit, it seems that many people are having trouble making this work.
bittrex.PNG

Yeah, I don't think it be like that for too long. It should come back online pretty soon.

Hello. There has been some problems on withdrawals from Poloniex and Bittrex. You can easy withdraw from you steemit account in less than 2 min. (BLOCKTRADES)

Login to you account

Go to wallet

Go to Steem or SBD and click "sell"

The BlockTrades hp will popup

Select steem or SBD for fx. bitcoin/ether

Enter your receive address

A menu will show where you can transfer your steem or SBO to "Account and memo"

Go back to you wallet and transfer the ammount you want to withdraw

Check memo and adress are right

Wait 1-2 minuts I hope this helps.

Thanks fora thorough reply. Unfortunately this also provides no exit. Four hours ago i sent $1BTC. It hasn't showed up yet. I'm sad.

Bittrex verygood

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72