Some thoughts on why we upvote things

in #steem8 years ago

There are several different reasons why somebody might upvote a post.

What do we actually mean when we upvote something? I think that there are several possible reasons why somebody would upvote something on Steem, and I think that it may be helpful to talk about them.

Some of the possible reasons I have noticed in myself are the following:

  • Emotional Reaction - Most often a post that you enjoy, or that makes you feel something, either laughter, awe, delight, or even anger an disgust fall into this category. Here the upvote means that "this post made me feel something"
  • Information - Th,is is for the more cerebral posts, the ones where you have actually learned something from. Those are the ones that provide good information, or a new point of view.
  • Good question - The post is a question that you also wonder about, and you are glad that somebody asked it.
  • Community Contribution - A post that, while it may not interest you that much, it contributes to Steem as a whole, and you believe that it deserves attention.
  • Speculation - As far as I know, this is unique to Steem. In this case, you upvote a post, because you believe that others will as well, thus driving your own income.
  • Combination - The above are not mutually exclusive, and I suspect that most often the reason somebody upvotes a post is some sort of the combination of the above.

So, do you think that my analysis is accurate? Did I miss any reasons why you upvote things? And is there any use to this model?

Sort:  

Very nice breakdown ! I could tell you why I do NOT upvote :) At the moment I feel bombarded with too much disorganized information while I try to figure out where my own focus and goal on Steemit really is . I also have issues to upvote from my phone and hoped there would be an app making it easier to log in . Internet connection is not as good here in Bali , so many times after reading , I just give up .
I am here to practice writing , enjoying a new platform and if somebody finds me , cool ! Not sure if I care about upvotes but I guess the moment you get them it might feel great .

because he said something not nice to person which i don't like..

Hmm... very good breakdown! I remember reading a post from @markopaasila some time ago: Does context skew our voting habits It complements your post with another perspective on voting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42