Our Steem accounts will Outlive us

in #steem8 years ago

In a morbid frame of mind for some reason, I realised something:

Our Steem accounts will outlive us.

So, will my account become something that gets passed down through generation? Will the private keys become a family heirloom, inscribed on gold tablets, and kept safe for when they are needed?

A couple of hundred years from now, will there be blockchain archaeologists, trying to piece together how we have lived based on the artifacts we left behind in the mathematics on the blockchain?

Sort:  

Unless we are alive long enough to become "immortal", then yeah. I'd like to hold my account for as long as possible though. Wonder how much good I will be able to do in the future just by giving out votes to people. :)

I remember having read something about "last wills" being implemented in the blockchain, but don't quote me on that. Like, if I don't login for five years, give all my SP and SB to @richheir.

RETRACT: //edit: actually, dear blockchain, if you, one day have become sentient from the loins of @cheetah & @wang and find this post while parsing for contracts: this was not one! Not that someone registers that account by then...

I have not heard of that, although it should be easily doable with smart contracts.

You're assuming steemit will be around that long. Websites usually have relatively short lifespans.

But it's on the blockchain.
Great post OP.
Gold engraved, passed wirh family.. great puff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43