Sort:  

That really needs to be fleshed out, I think. There should be some real value in offering a better algorithm but it's hard for me to quite see how it would work.

Thinking this out as I write...

So there are 4-5 parties that directly interact here.

You have the content creator, the condenser site the content creator uses, the curator, the condenser site the curator uses, and the witnesses.

For simplicity, we can ignore witnesses since their function and rewards would remain the same.

If leave the author split at 75%, then the competition among the condensers can take place by offering different curator splits as one of the differentiating factors. For example, even if steemit.com offered full curation and steempeak.com offered 80% curation, I'd still go with steempeak.com because the UX is so much better.

If we don't leave the author split at 75%, then we need a true two-sided market of some kind. Off the top of my head I don't see how that would work very well.

OK define "UX" please :-)

User eXperience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69947.15
ETH 3908.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71