You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing The STEEM Chronicles - Online and Offline Magazine

in #steem7 years ago

Alright, you've got my interest. My only question is: how will you deal with copyright? Will you use only with permission from the authors, or does publishing to a block chain leave the content as open source?

Or am I missing something?

Sort:  

Right. I think the content is still copyright material. To print it and distribute it, they will need the author's permission. What incentive will there be for authors to give their permission?

We will ask for permission from the authors. In return, they will appear in the magazine and get votes from the crew but that's pretty much all since probably all the rewards we will get will go towards printing. The magazine will be free for anyone to read and print. :)

Authors can choose to use the Creative Commons Copyright. Do you know about them? They are a group of Stanford (I think) lawyers who wrote up all the legal boilerplate to protect artist rights. Artists (authors) can choose provisions that suit them. eg. attribution required, no changes allowed, free for non-commercial use, etc. These provisions are indicated by short titles that are backed up (if necessary) by all the pages of legalese. The Creative Commons copyright is widely used and respected. I've published ten books under the CCC.

Right, and then anyone can cut portions of the magazine then attribute it to themselves and then resell it for profit. I would think twice before agreeing to give away all my author's rights to the magazine you are planning. I'm not sure if you've looked into it seriously but I do think you should keep copyrights for your magazine. The rights you are requesting to publish author's work should be reserved for your magazine publication only, in my non-lawyer opinion.

We will obviously ask for the author's permission from the author. More detail about this will come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33