You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Vlog] Views on Steem delegation, the Utopian.io 'rant', Communities and why I avoid the Trending page

in #steem7 years ago

There is nothing "deep" to get into. This is child's play.

The points you make may be important to you but not to me. The points I find important are in my video and blog post.

Like I told you at Steemfest, I like what you've done with Utopian.io and the impact you've made in a short period of time. It is commendable. I want Utopian to win. If Utopian wins, Steem wins, I win.

A 'rant'/ declaration of war/ whatever it was against phishing on Steemit.chat (not even a Steem blockchain app) is cool too. Everyone's entitled to vent. I vent too. If you're 'shock jocking' the subject to make a different point, more power to you.

However when the post is upvoted to the top of the trending page by one account super charged with delegated steem power that was primarily sponsoring the account for other purposes... well, that is symptomatic of why I don't visit the trending page often. This kind of thing is nothing new. It's been happening (in different guises) since I joined the platform 18 months ago. I think/ hope the development of things like Communities is a step that might help elevate this (and promote valued content) in an organic way.

For example, I'd much rather see details of a innovative Open Source Initiative top the trending page then another promo about the frontend that will promote/ bring Open Source Projects topping the feed (again and again). Until people get sick of it and there's a backlash... Then the backlash tops the trending page. Then something else pops up promising to deliver the "killer Steem app" hits the top of the trending page... and the cycle continues...

Been there, done that. Bring on Communities.

That is the extent to which I'm 'worried' about anything that goes on the Trending page. One video. One post. One reply (this).

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47