Video Tutorial: Estimate the payout of a post in US Dollars.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Are you still confused about how much your post is worth in USD? Watch this video, and make that confusion disappear!

Click on the picture or here to watch it in DTube.


I have been 3 months on Steemit. Progressively, with time, my posts gained in popularity and so the payout rose steadily. But still, I was a little puzzled by the calculations that led to the final payout. I decided to put an end to this and made my little research to figure this baby out.

Check this video tutorial, it will give you a serious insight on how payouts are calculated, and what payout option you should select depending of the current rate of the SBD and that of the STEEM .

Note that this tutorial will just give you an estimation at +/- 10% of the effective payout. Some factors have not been included but only lead to minor variations. For example the effect of the fraction of the curation rewards that go to the author by votes that occurred before the 30 minutes marks have not been included.

I hope you enjoy the Video and that it will clarify the payout system for my fellow Steemians!

Image credits: All illustrations and images were put together by @muphy using visual elements found on pixabay.com
Video and background music produced by @muphy. 


Hi,
I’m @muphy,
My life revolves around music production, teaching sciences, and discovery through travel.
You enjoyed that post?    Resteem and Upvote!
You are interested in these topics?    Follow me!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Thanks for that. I was going for the 100% for a while but went back to 50/50 and now I'm pleased I did. Don't think SBD will go under $1 because that's supposed to be the minimum that they keep it at. You never know with crypto though, anything can happen.

So its almost always better to choose 50/50? Even if you plan to power up later? I thought if the main goal is to increase Steem Power in the beginning then going 100% seemed the best, but maybe not .. its confusing ...

I know it is confusing... My first posts were also at 100% and I lost some Steem because of this: this is why I made the video to avoid others making the same mistake.

Remember this rule: if the SBD is valued more than 1US$ on the markets, always go to 50/50. Then change your SBD to Steem using the internal market. Then power up.

The trick is that in the payout number (let's say this number is expressed in units), each unit converted to SBD equals 1 SBD (that is with today's rate around 6-7 $, which is a little more than 1 Steem).

Each unit converted directly to SteemPower counts for 1 US dollar of steem (that is about 0.15 Steem).

Okay I'll go with 50/50 from now on .. unfortunately I may have already lost access to my keys (encrypted the file and forgot the password) so the whole Steemit project is over for me .. we shall see ...

That is unfortunate. If you just started, maybe make another account but this time make sure you do not lose your keys!

Wow..!! Nice and sincere tips & tricks Sir..!! Nobody gives that kind of information easily..!!

Well, welcome to a platform where people want to genuinly give to each other, and not take, like in most places (virtual and real).

Thanks Sir...!

I will follow your advice thank you Sir

You are welcome. I hope it helps you use Steemit at the most!

Yeah, of course thank you again SIR

Thank you

you are welcome, Adrian. I hope it helps you in some of your first steps on Steemit :-)

take out the account in this way if
your publication earns 100usd of profit
the final payment will be like this, take out the account of this
mode will give you the exact number.
it is assumed that 25% goes to the curator
the other 75% for the author is fine, my way of
get the account is this faster and
simple start
you have 100usd generated multiplied
by 0.75 that would be equal to 75usd now
divide it by 2, which would be 50% usd
and 50% sp this results
37.5 usd and 37.5 sp

Of course, I could have started with a 100 unit post, yet, I wanted to show real life! But what you're describing is the same thing ;-).

your method also I like it and it's well explained

Good job my friend!

Thank you Rich :-)

Thank you so much, I will see the video to Get more informations this is what i was looking for, Thank you agai. I start follow you to get more useful informations.

Very informative post @muphy
May God bless you with more knowledge to make such a lovely posts..!!
Thanks..!!

thanks for info its helpful !!!

You are welcome. I am glad it allows you to make sense out of the payout system.

So that's how to do it thanks for this tutorial very helpful now i could find the rough estimate :)

You are welcome. With a rep 62 though you probably knew this already, right? ;-)

Informative post. Thanks

You are welcome. and hope it helped those that are still wondering how the payout system works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11