Sort:  

You'd better believe it! I can destroy a fruit cake. I can do the same to fruit without the cake. :)

I used to like cake a lot, but now I have a hard time with most frosting being way too rich. I generally like chocolate, as long as it's not triple chocolate where it's just too much chocolate.

I had a red velvet cake once that was the best cake i've ever tasted ever, but since I haven't been able to duplicate it, so I'm not sure what else was in it, but wow was it good.

I haven't had it in a very long time but pineapple upside down cake has been one of my favorites. And it's really hard to beat a fresh strawberry shortcake (as long as pound cake is not used).

I think I would rather eat pies, though. Not that I would choose death instead of cake, mind you. Fortunately, Death by Chocolate was not an option. :)

I get what you mean about it being too rich. I think the sugar content in sugar has gone up. Is that possible? :D

There are many great options with pie. I wouldn't mind pie either. Discussing pie and all of its merits was one of the first things my now-wife and I talked about. :)

"You like pie?"
"Yeah, you?"
"Yes, I do. Speaking of 'I do,' want to get married?"
"I'd love that... almost as much as I love you!"

Ha ha, I guess that's why I write fiction about cowboys and horses, not romance. :P

Maybe they've been measuring out Stevia instead of sugar. One little packet goes a loooooooooong way.

Now I need to know who started this pie conversation. :) In my case, it was my wife, though she denies it went down that way and had nothing to do with pie.

Actually, that's probably some of the best romance writing to ever be written in the history of romance writing.

Something I've never really understood. Why do we need romances? If someone likes them, what is that saying about their spouse, partner, special someone, significant other? I mean, I like watching movies with explosions, but then I don't go home and expect to see explosions. With romance, it's like the reader wants more than what's available. I don't see how it could be an escape and not a reminder of what they come to think they're missing out on.

I don't do artificial sweeteners. They mess with the bacteria in your gut. From what I've heard and read, it's basically steroids for the bad bacteria that want to grow in your gut. I'm pretty ok with plain flavors anyways. I'm a simple kind of man, as they say. ;)

Either one of us could have started that conversation. We both love pie and love each other.

I think romances are like looking at sports cars. Yes, you have a car, but look at how pretty/fast/new that car is. It's not necessarily wrong to dream, but if you're not thankful for what you have, you're always going to be dissatisfied.

I think Stevia is natural. But give me good old cane sugar! I can't stand artificial sweeteners; to me they taste like chemicals and not sweet at all.

I beg to differ on the romances only in that the rare decent one might provide new ideas :))) Most typical romance novels annoy me because the characters are so vapid. But I'll read them anyway and then my husband seems extra sexy to me because he's not vapid and annoying...so there is a benefit for him, haha.

You have me stumped. I cannot think of any bizarre uneatable cakes!

I like cane sugar a lot, too, and from what I gather, it's supposed to be healthier than processed white sugar, relatively speaking. I'm really surprised, though, with a virtually non-existent calorie count and other desirable attributes that Stevia hasn't taken off. Apparently, it's had a hard time getting approval here. Sugar lobby maybe? :)

I think your explanation about the reason why women (mostly) read romances is the first I've heard that makes sense to me. :)

It''s too bad, though, that the romance genre is so broad, because there's a definite difference between some older, tamer romance novels, that might actually have elements of romance in them, and say, the 50 shades of Gray series, that I understand is focused on bondage and other sexual practices rather than what I would consider romance. Doesn't sound like the leading man treats the leading woman very well at all, regardless.

I refuse to read 50 Shades. I got sucked into reading Twilight (and it sucked) and from what I gather, 50 Shades reinvented Twilight's protaganists and put them on steroids. I've read the same thing about the man treating the woman badly and that she has major self esteem issues, etc....Now what's kind of thought provoking about that scenario is that 1. There are indeed real life situations in which a woman with low self esteem idolizes a man who treats her badly and mistakes his use of her as "love"...but 2. books like 50 Shades idealize that instead of exposing it. I've seen people hotly argue that point about the Outlander series as well.

There is definitely a huge variation in what constitutes a "romance" novel, I totally agree with that.

So @mtnmeadowmomma is right, Stevia isn't an artificial sweetener. It is all natural, and according to the information I just read, is 150 times or more sweeter than sugar (so smaller doses are in order), and the sweetness is slower to start but lasts longer. It also has zero calories.

It comes from the plant Stevia rebaudiana somewhere in South America.

I don't like artificial sweeteners either. It seems like after the FDA approves them, we find out later that they can cause some kind of health problem, which makes you wonder what's going on at the FDA?

re: romances

I get the car analogy. I guess I wouldn't think of my car and my wife in the same terms, specifically dreaming for a newer, nicer model. :) It is true, though, we do need to be thankful for all that we have, especially our spouses, because, as you say, if were not, we're almost certain to live in an ongoing state of dissatisfaction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40