You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Steem Be Rewarding 'Proof of Brain' or 'Proof of Wallet'? Plus, Are Vote Bots Good/Bad?

in #steem6 years ago

Good thoughts about “brain vs bot”, I have been against bots from the get go. I have never used them. It seems to me it’s an unfair advantage and newbies can’t get traction because they have no coin. Never been on the trending page and do tire of seeing the usual suspects.
In other words you can’t buy loyalty, it must be earned. Just MHO.🐓

Sort:  

I come from the cut throat world of 'internet promotion before steemit' - which is a world where people think nothing of spending many thousands of dollars a month just to try to get seen in the google search rankings - partially because of that I can just write off the cost of bots as a type of marketing cost that is intended to generate a return and usually they do - which is part of the issue here.. The bots are often profitable even without them generating new votes.
I see the unfair advantage as being the existence of an imbalance of wallet sizes ultimately, which is true and I suppose though that the counter argument is that the wallet imbalances will exist with or without bots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61