Why did I join Steem?

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Good question actually. I've experimented with Tsu.com in the past, but that was far from comfortable to me: They promised more than was actually delivered, and perhaps I wasn't ready for it then either, but times have changed in the meantime:

Bitcoin came, and the blockchain sounded like a nice way to hook up to the digital currency world, but even when I joined it was already too late: since Bitcoin is actually slanted to rewards the early adopters way more than the later ones, it hardly seemed a 'better world' than current fiat currency, where the top 1 percent own the lot. Even in Bitcoin land, the top three mining operations essentially have a combined total of over 50 percent of the network, and thus can swing consensus. 

Next came Ethereum, but since I am in fact more a writer than a coder, I had not yet gotten my toes wet there, when the DAO was hit hard. The repercussions of that eventually led to lots of discussion, a hard fork, and for me personally the realization that there is no fork in what I see as a digital currency:

It should basically treat all its stakeholders equally. And the differences in it should not be about "Who gets the loot first", but more like "Who does the group think most deserves it". SteemPower seems to be a nice step forward there, although the "power" in it brings visions of "Power corrupts, and Absolute Power corrupts Absolutely!"  Why don't we just call it "ESteem" if the currency itself is called "Steem"?

And since it seems to have no requirement to put in hard currency or digital currency to kickstart the damn thing, I figured I'd just feed this blog my writer's creativity, and hope the site stays far away from paid advertisements, because I definitely am not here to read those!

Let's just make this something nice together, hopefully without forks and spoons..... :-)

Sort:  

I joined TSU curious to see how it would fair and abandoned it as soon as read the payment information. (at the time i joined you had to be a member to get to this information). sorry to hear you got burned on that one but you payments relying on how well the people you brought in was never going to work

Not really burned, I'm a curious but cautious guy.... But thanks for the reply!

yeah maybe burned was the wrong word. But I do hope you have a much better experience here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50