You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suggested Public Relations Management For Steem In Response to 'Dangerous Conspiracy Theories': Analysis Of Issues With The Steem Eco-System & Introducing The 'Steem Witness Protection Program'.

in #steem6 years ago

I have to say, I was not aware to the absentee witness
phenomenon until the radio show yesterday. I think that there were some very good points raised.

There is a severe roadblock for anyone who would consider becoming a witness, I myself had thought about the idea, however if one has to spend 300 - 400% more than they can earn in maintenance on a witness node (leaving aside any setup costs) there is no incentive for new witnesses.

The witness voting page as it stands is laughable and IMO clearly geared to keep the witnesses at the top exactly where they are.

For what is supposed to be a decentralized network steem and steemit by extension is heading the way of an old boys club at best or a dictatorship at worse.

The voting patterns across the top 20 witnesses is shocking if I am perfectly honest. I can't think of one logical reason to vote for a dead witness other than protectionism.

The sign up process too is a disgrace if I am perfectly honest, you can sign up to any other social media platform in a matter of seconds.

Thank you @ura-soul once I get to PC I will be Resteeming. I am also looking forward to seeing what @drakos and @sircork have to add in their posts.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments - it would certainly be helpful to hear a thorough and well researched response from Steemit inc.
Maybe @andrarchy can arrange something?

Indeed, I would be confident that a solution can be found, I believe it is a matter of will though. I suppose it will be a signal of intent to keep the status quo or to break up the seeming old boys club.

My post on the topic of witness position manipulation is turning into such a gargantuan rabbit hole I may not be able to finish it without help. Which is why I called out for technical data analysis assistance on the show yesterday. I really need someone who can run some fast queries on the data. I am a programmer with the skills to learn the APIs and do it, but as a leader of three international organizations I cannot peel off enough hours in the day to get it done. And so it goes.

I looked for your post, but wasn't able to find it - can you link us? thanks.

" is turning into such a gargantuan rabbit hole I may not be able to finish it"

It's not posted yet :) It will be days, possibly a week if left only to me, which is why I keep crying out for data analytics help every time we mention it :)

oh, that one! gotcha.
i'll message you on discord in a while to discuss if you like?

Hi @sircork, I wish that I had the skills for the job. It is somewhat out side my remit. That being said if I can assist please let me know.

Kind of you to offer, this is going to take someone with some pretty rapid fire data analytics and block chain api/sql query writing skills. I'll find them. They're here :)

Thank you for your witness vote!

I finally got to a PC! So hopefully my massive 150 SP will boost you right up the table! LOL

To the moon! Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66