Vote for your Favorite Charity and let Steem make a donation

in #steem7 years ago

No Steemit.com will not be the ones giving money to charity just because I decided to title an article sounding that way. What this is however, is a way for Steem members to show their support for their favorite charity and potentially build some Steem for it. While I am new to Steemit I feel that this may be a good way to not only talk about the charities that everyone is interested in but also a good way for those of us that may never have heard of what you are pasionate about.

What I propose
We comment on this article with the name of a charity that we feel passionately about along with a few words about it or why you care so much if you choose to do so. Upvote the article and share it all over.

Whats in it for You?
Ultimately when the post hits a threshold which we can discuss depending on how much hype is generated we will use the Steem to donate to several of the charities. My personal opinion is the top 5 or so, or just at random i'll let you note your thoughts in the comments and I will add to this as we as a community decide how to distribute what we have built together.

I will comment on the article once it is published as an example for those of you that are visual :)

Sort:  

"Charity : Water" because I think its horrible that anyone in this day in age should have to worry about having enough clean drinking water. I don't have personal ties to anyone related to the project or receiving help from it.

I like the idea of donating to the top 3 charities as well as 2 more randomly.

Interesting thoughts