You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple To Do List:

in #steem5 years ago

I think this is a good list. Unfortunately, I don't think too many people will be onboard with punishing the worst behavior. In fact, I think the opposite happens. In my experience, whether or not someone gets punished is directly related to their stake. A Minnow acting like an asshole gets hemmed up real quick. Whales on the other hand, quite often get defended with "it's their stake" kind of reasoning...which is not necessarily bad. However, it shouldn't really come into play as to whether or not a behavior is bad.

I think in order to meet the goals of your first item, we have to institute a real reputation system. The current reputation score can remain as the upvotes score or maybe influence score, but it has never really been about reputation. In order to encourage free engagement, I think each user should have an equal say in determining reputation. Doing this would also empower users to punish bad behavior without having to rely on whales who are reluctant (and rightly so) to invest their SP in policing activities.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The thing is that justice comes in the end. They have to most to win or lose. If they continue to make bad choices they will continue to see bad results.

The rest of us have a choice in whether or not to participate.

I'm not sure what reputation has to do with each one of us contributing at whatever level our stake is at.

Nowhere did I say that the end-users should dictate to the whales.

I don't believe that I implied that you said end users should dictate to whales. I consider whales to be end users also (in many cases). I also believe that the behavior of all end users should be judged on the same scale. That's why reputation is relevant.

Bad behavior is bad behavior regardless of stake. A lower stake user is currently discouraged from correcting the bad behavior of a higher staked user because they do so at the risk of the lowering of their own reputation score. This has happened many times. Ultimately, it undermines items 2 and 4 on your list.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, you didn't imply it. I don't know why my response sounded like that, but when I just reread it... It did. :)

Yeah, I agree bad behavior is bad behavior. And I get the point you are making about Rep.

Steem needs to be able to ban bad users the same way bitcoin bans bad nodes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65