You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time To Wake Up and Fix Steem's Voting Problem

in #steem6 years ago

Indeed, I enjoy the social aspect of Steemit very much. However, I am one of the many who hope one day to prosper from what I do here. I won't give details, but suffice it to say illness and age have landed me up shit creek with only one paddle: Steemit. I can't live off of Steemit now, but one day I hope to. And the sooner the better, to be frank. And of course you know I am not alone in this by any means. Blessings.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your troubles. I think the point stands regardless. If people aren't having a good time while they're here, most of them aren't going to give a shit about the $500 per year they might get paid to casually use the site.

My wife is a perfect example. Until she can come on here and shit post with her friends just for fun, she has zero interest in creating an account and using the platform. It's just not worth the small amount of money she might get by foregoing time on some other social media where she's having a good time.

Now all else equal, if people can get the user experience they get on other social media and also get paid for it, that will be the tipping point for Steemit. But again, if the user experience isn't there, they just can't be bothered.

I'm sort of astonished at the lack of willingness of most people to take initiative and do even minor things that will benefit them. Unfortunately people that will take the initiative are in the minority. I wish you great success in your content creation here though because I can tell you are not one of those people.

Yes, I see your point. And certainly blockchain tech will see many sites for the casual social poster. But Steemit may not evolve to that point. However, I do see the Nigerians and Malays and others engaging in that quite a bit. But for most of them they would like to see $$ too. Don't think Steemit will do them much good.

Like you say, most people don't take much initiative to improve their lives. Steemit won't help them either.

Many blessings. Thanks for your response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84