You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Investment In Knowledge Pays the Best Interest - Quote of the Day

in #steem6 years ago

Thank you @khaleelkazi... today my best teacher is life experience. I learn from my boys and from teaching. I used to read a lot and thanks to you I can continue to read new books. Actually it seemed like every book was the same so I enjoyed classics the most. The problem with classics is they take a couple hours just to get started. I like the Bible the most and write a journal each day. That's the best part of my day.

After three months on Steemit I learned some good things from your posts. I'm upset though about a lot of the trending posts in see in Steemit. That's what turned me off from the beginning. It's like I want to avoid popular authors and these are the ones who show up when anyone searches Steemit. I'm a little concerned about the future of this network and the Steem crypto itself.

At the same time I have to pay more attention to other things like learning and teaching and family. I'm glad to talk about what I learned today. I like visiting your blog. I liked your attitude from the beginning and the Steem was a bonus.

It's only been a couple months but it seems like ages. Anyway. It looks like I'm here to stay.

Have you ever read the Brothers K? It's a book I go back to every couple years.

Another thing that gets me learning is a test. I have never studied so much without having a test looming over me especially tests like GRE, MCAT and teaching exams. This standardized tests motivate me to learn for even a year straight. But that learning is not the same as experience.

These days nature is my second teacher. I learn by listening. I'm pretty fed up with tons of information coming at me and at times I turn off all gadgets and learn from real life. I'm not disappearing but taking some time off.

Sort:  

I love classics as well and it's a goal of mine to get back to reading more of them! Life experience is something that I've always found extremely rewarding - all you have to do is step outside of your door step and do something with the intent of curiosity and you'll always find amazing knowledge and skills!

I also see a huge issue with the trending page. There's a lot of crappy content getting shot right up to the top. I've seen a lot of plagiarism and simple content that just shouldn't be valued at thousands of dollars and taking up the precious attention of the trending page. I imagine that the Steemit team will come up with some better solution for sorting posts or other teams will (like busy.org, d.tube, etc.). It's just a matter of time in my opinion, but it's something that should be addressed ASAP.

Talking about what I learn each day is always amazing and I love hearing all of yours and others thoughts on different subjects as well! It's as if we have a great meeting hall of amazing minds sharing amazing ideas and I love it!

I haven't read Brothers K, but I will definitely check it out, thanks for the recommendation!

Ahh yes, tests always got me to learn quickly and thoroughly. Now that I'm no longer in school, I set similar deadlines for books and other subjects just to get myself to sit down and make sure that I keep up with everything. Nature is also a great teacher, have you read the biography of Leondardo Da Vinci by Walter Isaacson? It's a really great read and talks a lot about how Da Vinci learned from nature and how it influenced his art and life.

Wow. Thank for taking time to read my comment even though I was in a bad mood. Leondardo Da Vinci by Walter Isaacson sounds write up my alley. I'm looking it up now. I see Leonardo and you have some things in common (a man without letters" a "disciple of experience")

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41