You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem isn't great at rewarding content, but it could be...

in #steem6 years ago

Thanks for the reply @niallon11, your support does mean something since the people that are in a position to actually make these changes are going to be further incentivised to develop them if there is a strong outcry from the community to add them.

I really like the approach you mentioned as well with a token that is rewarded indefinitely that can then be traded for Steem. I actually still don't know and have never heard a strong justification for the 7 day expiration date on posts. I agree with you that this is a HUGE disincentive for content creators to produce valuable content on Steem.

And I think that's actually probably the crux of the problem here on Steem is misaligned incentives. If you're a very large stakeholder, the design of the system incentivises you to delegate to bidbots or sell votes.

If you're a content creator, the design of the system incentivises low quality, but regular(daily) content. Since it only has 7 days to earn rewards, basically no discovery system, and the UX is only made for upvotes and not donations which equals overall low return especially when crypto prices are down.

The silver lining here is that all of these things are fixable. People like you taking the time to comment and spread these ideas is exactly what's needed, so thanks again! :)

Sort:  

I think that you are right one that. I've been here for a while and the blockchain is a totally different beast than when I started. People have realised that we need progress to keep going and have started to work on projects and ideas thay will help long term value. It would be great if one of the front ends did the same with this idea and pushed for better content and lasting rewards. Who knows? I've seen a few familiar names in this post that have the skills to do it. I would create my own interface and eternity token if I had any idea what to do. Match it with the steem token and use it as the currency for the site. Unfortunatly I can't do any of this but I will still keep posting and watching this space.

Posted using Partiko Android

Eternity token. ETYT? ETT, ETY, I think you’re on to something with that!

I was typing my reply and it was just in my head. Sounds decent though. Might have to set one up fast on steem engine before it gets taken.......😢😢 ETY for sure. The others don't fit as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34