I'm confused About PASSWORDS?! Don't Worry, I'm still logged in! :)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

password1-618x336.jpg

Ok, I just signed up this past week and everything is going along hunky dorry! Then I want to log in with my phone and it won't let me. It says a I need a password (duh). I signed up with coinbase the same day I signed up with Steemit. So i think I'm getting my passwords cross wise. Then I notice that you can't choose your passwords for Steemit...I DON'T EVER REMEMBER BEING GIVEN ONE! I just confirmed my email and then I was in. Boom!

I got the confirmation email from Steemit but don't ever remember getting a password. It says to store the password but I don't remember ever getting one to copy and store?!?! OMG! Am I screwed?

You see, I'm an average American. I'm just spit balling here but if Steemit is ever going to get people to dump Facebook, Youtube, Reddit...etc...they are going to have to plan for the dummies like me who don't remember ever getting a password and not storing it. (I'm sure I got one but never remember seeing it and sure don't remember anything about making sure I save it somewhere safe.)

Even my blockchain wallet has ways of recovering your password or generating a new one if I'm logged in. But Steemit, I can't generate a new one without having the old ONE?? WHAT??

I guess my only option at this point is guarding my computer to make sure nothing happens to it...because it and only it is logged into steemit. TELL ME THIS CAN BE FIXED!!

Ok really...what are my options?

resteem.jpg

Sort:  

If you have "lost" your password, but are still logged in, you have a couple options.

  1. Your password could be stored under the saved passwords on your web browser and you will be able to recover it from there.
  2. if it is not, I recommend powering down your Steem Power and withdrawing it to a new account which you will set up. That is if you have access to the password that allows transferal of Steem assets.

Hope this helps

WHEW! Yes, thank you, it was in my chrome browser manager. But seriously, I'm just wondering if other places like coinbase and my blockchain wallet have password recovery options...man...I just think of all the people like me who don't pay attention and lose things.

Remember, Crypto is a cold, brutal world (at the moment any way), where human error can mean the loss of thousands of Dollars. https://bitmakler.net/291-bitcoin-transaction-fee__news_81940

I use LastPass on both computer and phone which is handy. SecurityNow podcast has recomended this in the past.

Will check it out. THANKS!

Zac, I followed you over from youtube so by no means am I an expert. But since you have found your password here is the advice I have been given by video and article:
Save your password in a document, encrypt it save it in the cloud, on a usb drive, write it on a piece of paper and put it in a lock box. I think they are serious about the password! :)

That's good to hear you found it.
I lost my password to my old account so I set up this new one, but thankfully I found the old password again recently, so now I'm busily powering down one to combine the 2.

Losing a password can be scary. I keep mine in a pw (26 characters long) encrypted spreadsheet. I also recently bought an address type book and started entering all my login credentials in it as paper is still just a bit more reliable and less likely to be hacked than digital.

Thanks for letting us know about this new site and best of luck to you guys, Zach.

Awesome! I recovered mine. 😁

Also, if you uncheck the "keep me signed in" box, you will have to enter that password every single time the you hit a button or go to another page. Ugh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65472.04
ETH 3323.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63