What's up with these new bots?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
Prior to writing this post, I checked and I'm not the only one receiving these unusual upvotes. If you've not received these upvote/comments don't worry, it's just a matter of time before you do. Now, I should say I don't find them to be offensive or bad, I'm just curious as to why this is happening. How is this a business model?



img src

At first I had one account following me doing this, but it has become about five at this moment. I suspect they are not human operated, but bots, however I've not yet confirmed. Some of them actually request some donations/delegations, but all of them seem to be from chiseled from the same script.



I guess I could dig a little deeper and find out who is operating these bots, if it's some sort of curation initiative or what have you, but because I don't necessarily see the harm in them, I've hesitated to put in the investigative work.

Let's see how long they last, I suspect not too long, specially because they are renting out delegations for their "business model" and today, specially at these prices, that can't be sustainable in the slightest.

Sort:  

This post has receive a 25.00% upvote from Coyote Bot.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from massive loss up to 20%

You just received 25.71% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @sweetpee!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
15% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

@meno I have been getting these too, I have some that stream my post and upvote me. I thought either they just like my post or they just want to give a plug for there service. Not a bad thing, maybe I’m just starting to do something right LOL 🤔
Resteemed 👍

I just entered you into my new project called @blissfish :P
Hopefully, you win! so you can see my lovely bot message ....
edit: haha...it showed up here below! nice win!

thanks ;)

Definitely weird and cannot see how this will last for an extended period of time as this doesn't really create value to the ecosystem and could get flagged to a point that will start to not only impact rewards but also their reputation.

As long as it says "You received an % upvote" im fine with it. :)

Always something of interest t keep us on our toes on Steemit. Thanks for the warning, I appreciate it.

Instead of begging for votes, they disguise begging for delegation in this fashion, then earn curation rewards the easy way, while duping unsuspecting noobs into delegating, which in turn causes them to lose the ability to do anything around here. It won't work well, but some will fall for it. That's my take on it anyway.

Very possible... Hrmm but do you think they are earning enough to rent the dele?

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know. That teevmoore account appears to be an active member simply spamming this post has recieved an upvote on every post they view. They're also powering down, so I assume that member doesn't really know what they're doing, should probably be flagged for spam to put a stop to it. I've seen other accounts asking for delegation though, and when I looked in the wallets, there wasn't much owned SP and about 20 delegated. I can't remember which account it was, but I'd know it if I saw it again. I doubt whoever delegated would see any money trickling in. The spammer, I assume, would be using the delegation to increase their own rewards. Purely speculation though. Some of these scammy types aren't smart and it's easy to see through them.

Nothing wrong with increasing your own rewards, as long as you're also sharing the rewards with other people on the blockchain. Upvoting only your own posts is what I see as scammy.

Aún no lo he visto, posiblemente busca primero ls cuentas mas grandes... Seguro tardará en dar conmigo jajaj.<brSaludos amigo @meno

Again...
THANK YOU!

For me, ID verification or reputation cap up to 40. There are multiple companies doing it, and it could be paid by the user posts. Let’s say, 50% of their rewards up to fill the amount necessary to support the ID verification service.

Posted using Partiko iOS

there is one account like that, that a couple of days ago just upvoted all my comments and kept doing it. The upvote worth 0$ so i can't really tell why he/she/it doing that

its a bad business model... hahahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58889.18
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47