The secret to growing on Steem - A response to that one trending post

in #steem6 years ago


I know a lot of people keep on falling for the "secrets" behind the paywalls. Well, here is my attempt to share some sensical ideas on this whole debacle.

What do you guys think?

Youtube Mirror for Posterity


Sort:  

I literally wasted my life trying to talk under that trending post. I left a link in my first comment there and once clicked we see a night and day difference between the response these shortcut BS artists receive and those with actual experience. I laid into that character calmly, and came out feeling hated and now today I don't even have a post of my own to share because what those people are doing brings me down. All I can think of writing is a humorous rant of sorts and I'm beginning to hate the sound of my voice inside my head when I think of these things. L-O-L

I actually saw you in the comments my friend, you inspired this little video in many ways.

I don't feel so alone now. Thank you.

For the record: I do not enjoy making a scene under blog posts. I'd much rather sit back, chill, have fun, shoot the shit, whatever.

I'm going to go get a beer and look up the rant in question. BRB

Posted using Partiko Android

hey can you post the link? give me a shortcut? lol ;) i'm also going for another beer!

Try this. It might take more than one beer.

I found it hopeful that more than one commenter pointed out the flaws in this particular scheme. @nonameslefttouse was just the most articulate and persistent.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@nonameslefttouse/re-joeparys-a-beginner-s-guide-to-success-on-steemit-20181004t190150347z

Posted using Partiko Android

i am on my second beer and watching for you :)

still trying to figure out how to inspire you, will take some ninja skills i guess

Loading...

As all the experienced people I have seen on here have said, it is about building relationships. That is the shortcut. You can spend a lot of time on content, but relationships make your content valuable.

You can spend a lot of time on content, but relationships make your content valuable.

As my little brother usually says.... BOOOM

it's all about the people, i have learned this too....BOOM

So i guess if only relationships make your content valuable, you worth as a creator is only as good as other people. I guess kafka and Van gough should have spent less time creating things and more time socializing.

If they wish to succeed on DTube and Steemit before they die, then yes.

I think to point out anecdotal exceptions is to resist the bell curve in a futile way m1 . I know where you are coming from, we seem to have this conversation quite often, but you still holds on to exceptions when you present your points.

Posted using Partiko Android

What you see as a bell curve I see as a linear path where choice is irrelevant of context. I merely raise the points of contrast to show how easily we attribute a perceived victory to path based on absolutes.

I had to say the exact same thing today. Sad that someone who has been here two weeks or so is looking for shortcuts.

unrealistic initial expectations are also the fastest way to disappointment.

short cuts are the long way...weird how that works

It is but there are no tricks either lol.

the trick is there are no tricks!

That's exactly right! There IS no secret... other than working hard, adding value and being actively engaged.

One of the great challenges/problems Steemit faces — as a community — is that people now have two years of having been "taught" that you can go on Steemit and make money posting stuff.

Whereas that is true, the attached expectations are completely out of line, and that makes all those relative newbies looking for a "method" or "shortcut" particularly susceptible to falling for the charms and promises of the "snake oil salesmen" peddling their methods.

Actually reminds me of some of the ancient scams still doing the rounds on the web: "The secret program to making money on the Internet! Just $49.95! Order yours now, and learn the amazing secret!"

Of course, there IS no "secret;" the ostensible "secret" is to talk other people into giving you $49.95 for something that doesn't exist.

i don't believe this to be entirely true, but on this case maybe... those who can't do, teach. - I think that's how it goes...

Haha!!!! I just decided to look at the Trending page for the first time in months... just to see if anything was different... and it wasn't, just a different guy doing the same thing... and getting a huge huge payout that was mostly from bots, that newbies won't know about, and will follow...

I can't wait for a truly interesting feed (that hasn't been curated by carefully selecting my follows). I have really high hopes for @steem-ua to have the groundwork sorted for Steempeak or someone to make a truly worthwhile Unfiltered feed.

EDIT: .... I'm sorry, I'm not as good a person as you... I HATE hustlers... they prey upon the weak and the new...

DOUBLE EDIT: I remember what your video reminded me of! (PS: and I mean that in a good way!)

hahahah i love that movie so no worries

what? you got $90 on this? it's the damn hair man the hair! its better than Ned's .. check it @whatsup ... baha

hahahhhaahha im in a competish with Ned?

there might be NO competition ... its a latin thang ... ok i got latin but i can say it bc i'm part latina .... dont care what noboddyyZZZ says

PS the only way to really grow on STEEM is HARD fckn Work! Period

hard work is right, it takes a lot to succeed here, much more than I ever imagined. I guess nudity in the forest blowing darts doesn't take me to the top

yes mah vlad!! love mah vlad! :)
it does in my book --- the naked in the woods partssss :p

i know your book is really good, i can't put it down :)

someday soon and thank you my friend. ;)

all this talk about books and you read me so well :)

Well, a spare million euro doesn't hurt either!

hey what are you doing on musing? sneaky bengy baha

Musing what what? I'm not on musing! Amusing?

weird, your comment on my musing question came up

I think I tried it out a bit, but that was a while back!

A response to that one trending post

LOLOLOL and yeah, so agree with you here, it takes work! :)

I wonder how many people end up paying the 9.99 right? Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I to be honest never watched those myself even though, it's on trending page all the time. Sounds too scammy to me

The shortcut is not a logger solution it's a shorter option. Great information bro @meno.

a fork in the road, HF20, which path will we take?

Its much better when people enter the system with the right mindset of not searching for easy way or like cryptoandcoffee has said shortcut....it helps to remain focused on your goals personal development, unfortunately there is a multitude out there preaching otherwise, so there is a need for us as individuals to spread the right word as you have done, this is our home, and we have to take care of it so thanks for this video... I'm glad I started on the right foot.

You got a healthy attitude brother, that is always going to be "your advantage"

it's all about the mindset, trying to keep mine positive even if it takes everything i got, been hard lately but working hard to keep it high

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14