The little FUD on the side steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

Im taking a little break at the moment, getting something into my system to be accurate, and decided to check my messages real quick, as they say. All of the sudden I got a message of someone who is freaking out because apparently Dan has left the building, and surely Ned is about to do so as well.

First of all, Dan left the building long ago, more than a year ago to be exact. He's been selling his stake since I joined the platform and I don't know why anyone is surprised about him selling even more. If I'm to be honest, it's probably a good thing that four days ago he sold his last big chunk (that we know of), since its nothing for an opportunity for others to pickup cheap STEEM, that is no doubt a silver lining.

If his "sell off" was going to kill STEEM as the people freaking out are saying, then the death would have occurred four days ago when he moved all of it to binance, but as we can clearly see, this is not the case at all. Putting things in perspective, his 400k are a drop in the bucket when it comes to how much STEEM is sitting in the exchanges, so even from that aspect, it's not such a big deal anyways.

Now, the latter point being made, the fact that Ned is powering down. I guess we have to make up our minds here, because for one people complain that steemit inc and by proxy Ned control too much stake, and on the other hand we are upset Ned is powering down. What gives? However to dispell this new wave of FUD, Ned has been powering down for months it didn't just start, and he has been moving his stake around too for months.

I understand fear, I'm human, I feel it too, but know that nothing new has happened, and people calling for the end of days is just part of the choir at this point.

Let's try to be balanced, because I don't want to be myopically optimistic either. Yes, times are rough, yes Steemit inc has been pretty quiet lately, yes Ned seems to be missing in action these days, but let's not forget the other side of the coin too.

Steemit just became the number one app on state of the dapps, development for many projects built on steem is continuing, steemitblog just announced they are moving forward with their rocksdb development and more importantly, the community is still here.

You see where I'm going with this? Its ok to worry, but being hysterical is hardly the same thing. "OMG Dan sold!" What where you expecting? For Dan to come back to Steemit and save the day? For Dan and Ned to be besties?

Come on people, make yourself useful and work on something of value, spreading fear will do nothing to make your days any better.

End of rant...

@meno

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Let em sell. I am sure someone out there appreciates it and is taken advantage of these prices. :)

there's new orcas every single week, that says it all to me.

Fully agreed, more forme to buy when i get more fiat 😁

Great post @meno and you are so right, people cant give out about sp control and also powering down. Its time to shift the balance

Posted using Partiko Android

This. All of this. We can sit here in a panic, or we can focus on building.

At this moment we have lack in leadership, no doubt about that. Just recently I have read a comment from @smooth who stated that there are now talks in the community and thinking about a fork to earase the premined stake of steemit inc ....


I have never got it Dan upvote ... so why I must torture myself what this what Dan do?

I just can say ..."Life is strange"


Both your points are spot-on. Dan left ages ago and Ned's been powering down for about as long as I can remember.

Personally I still think that we are going to drop a bit more in price before we start to really go back up. However, I also think this is a really good time to buy and investors should start picking up Steem as we follow this path into the new year.

I have been over this already and the benefits of more decentralization outweighs the costs of the lower price in the short term as it is the community that creates the value, not the stakes of a few whales.

Posted using Partiko iOS

perfectly said my friend...

the benefits of more decentralization outweighs the costs of the lower price in the short term

I saw one comment a few days back asking 'whether Dan and Ned had had a falling out'.

It should be irrelevant in the long term what either of them do with their stake!

Posted using Partiko Android

presactly brother... it should not matter and if it does, meaning, if to someone it does, then they should leave, because it wont change simply because they dont like it.

@meno Well said. No one should spread these kind of FUD.

Posted using Partiko Android

Time, more than ever, to put on the big boy pants. Every year is a new assessment. Happy New year

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not bothered about Dan but I'd like to know what Ned is doing. He hasn't filled me with confidence. There's going to be lots of speculation if he sells all his Steem. I know Steemit Inc. isn't Steem and perhaps he's selling to keep Steemit Inc. running in the bear market but its still a concern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65