You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EOS vs Steem - My thoughts on double Witnessing

in #steem6 years ago

For those wondering; I'm not evaluating new witnesses at this time. However, if your witness runs a public API node and I don't vote for you, then please let me know - I have a few votes for public API nodes.

It makes me smile this is one of the things you are focusing on. I keep on saying, even though it feels like I'm talking to a wall at times, that all top 20 witnesses should run one IMO. It sends the right message, the right precedent to anyone attempting to up the ranks, and its precisely what we need to scale our blockchain.

Sort:  

Ideally, that'd be great if the top-20 did run an API node. I haven't yet considered unvoting top20 witnesses that don't run an API node, I'd rather incentivise more to start.
The overheads of running an API node are much too high and it'd be great to have some dev effort in that direction before applying more "stick" to top witnesses that don't run API nodes.

Oh, that would not be a reason for me to unvote a top 20 witness, specially because the contributions can't be measured in only one dimension. However, I share your preferred approach, incentives over deterrents.

Regarding the overheads, the newest updates kind of take care of this. No longer will a ridiculous amount of ram be necessary to run a node, which would allow 32GB servers to do just fine.

These news are huge, or to be more with the times YUGE. So, I would love to see more of them embrace it once it launches. I will sure make some noise about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66