If we don't use it then

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I don't really subscribe to the idea of holing elites on pedestals. They are human like you and I and as such can make mistakes. However, this does not mean that every now and then someone of note won't say something that leaves me scratching my beard in surprised approval.


Case in point, a man with a large personality that barely fits his own skin, John Mcaffee.


Known to the "mainstream" world by the antivirus, and to the crypto enthusiasts for his outrageous predictions, constant coin shillings and over the top personality, Mcaffee is someone you just can't miss. I personally don't think he is that fantastic, in the sense that I'm willing to bet he has taken large sums of money to shill some coins, but then again, would any of us do different if presented with the opportunity? Maybe not, maybe we would all learn to dance the chacha if there is enough 0s on the check.

Like thousands that participate of Steem I'm sure, I follow John on the twittersphere. It's the best way to know what he is up to, and being someone who can move markets with one tweet, I believe all of us should pay close to attention to what his thumbs are doing.

The video that has me thinking this morning both makes me very bearish on hundreds of cryptos I personally like, and super bullish on this one we are currently participating in. The logic is hard to argue with, and as much as I'm trying to poke holes in it, it seems to hold water very well.

The video is very short, and honestly it does need to be any longer. The argument if you can't be bothered spending a minute on the video (you've read this far, but OK) is that if there is no application for the currency, if there is no effective users of the currency, if we just hold it in exchanges waiting for it to pump so we can make money, the currency no doubt is bound to fail.

This translates to this in my mind:


Steem, is kicking ass


There is no such thing as a safe investment, of course not. No one could tell me they can guarantee 100% success rate on anything, and if they did, they would be either idiots or liars, but there is probably no other choice. However, in this cryptosphere where you can wake up one morning with a market that stabs your portfolio into double digits reds due to one Korean FUD that just got reheated on the microwave. Steem, is probably the only crypto I hold that does not hurt my liver.

The users are here


The customers, the Entrepreneurs, the commerce foundation is all here. Not only that, this is the busiest blockchain in the world. Did you know that? Out of all the cryptocurrencies, this one, this steem thing you got yourself into is the one that is most used and its also the one that is not being choked out of its capacity.


The capacity utilization Index of Steem has not even hit 1% and that is saying something. Ether which is a crypto I hold in high regards is attempting to keep up, and we have not seen the new wave of crypto kitties, crypto zombies or whatever it's going to be take over the network.

So whats my point?

Don't slow down, Don't stop posting, Don't think to yourself... OMG THE MARKETS ARE RED!!! So what? If the proverbial boat is sinking, is the right course of action to stare at the water pouring in? Or is it better to work harder to keep it afloat?

I'm sure you will agree with logic on this one too...


Other posts by yours truly


• I'm considering playing a prank
• I'm revising my ways, Thanks Paula
• one of those mornings
• if I lost this account, would you care?

Sort:  

100% in agreement with you.

Market is not the determinant of my activities on steemit, I love the relationship, I love the experience, I love everything about steemit. If the market is not too good, since others are there, I can't doubt steemit.
Market has been like that for long, it rises, it falls, my love for steemit remain

Thank you always...

the right attitude my man, the right attitude, that is half the battle!

On point sir....

My knowledge about these issues are limited but I stick yo the last part of your post. Last week I posted once and this week I have increased a bitv(three wee...) Not much maybe but I broke through my doubts and stating, onwards

John is just an amazing character,
and having watched this video,
I must say, I feel the same as you do.
If the ship is going down,
then I will be going down with it,
singing and dancing the whole way.
In the meantime,
it's time to double down.
I don't see Steem going away
any time soon.
I don't see the community
allowing that as an option.

I love it... singing and dancing all the way!! I'm there with you!

Great post. Useful information. Great advice. I am not quite familiar with the technicalities surrounding steem and sometimes i find it very difficult to understand the dynamics of how money is made here, but i am surely putting whatever sbd i am making here to a use. It is hard for some of us not to spend what we make here. This is helping a lot of people who would be otherwise starving, deeply frustrated, demotivated and contributing nothing to their immediate loved ones, let alone to a global community.

The fact that this platform in particular allows so many talented people to chip in their talents and surround you with so many interesting things to see is a plus factor. Thus, if posting can contribute to strengthen this currency, i am working hard to add my 2 cents.

It is hard, though to catch on with so much out there. Interaction with the community, which can make a big difference in how well positioned your blog may be, can be overwhelmingly complicated.

hey there @hzlezama thank you for engaging with me and for being honest about your position on this matter. The truth is that the system is complicated, I wont lie. But, it does not mean it will always be, or at least that you need to be an expert to fully use it.

For example, most people (not implying you don't) don't understand how FIAT currencies work, they have this somewhat vague idea that the government prints the money they use, but they don't understand nor care to, how the money is tied to assets or how it gets valued in a global system.

This however, does not prevent them from having a job and paying the bills in the slightest. I suspect something very similar will eventually be the landscape of cryptocurrencies, with the vast majority of crypto users being contempt with understanding how to use it, but not how it works.

I would however recommend anyone who is onboarding the field at the moment, meaning someone who would be considered an early adopter to take the longer road and learn the ins and outs. Why? because the early adopter is also the would be teachers for the next generations to come.

Is it easy? Maybe not, but it does not matter, because its not a race. However, it starts by these types of conversations, it starts with some questions.

Cheers

Good point. Very true. As a matter of fact, in the case of my country, Venezuela, every time economists talk about the causes of inflation they throw at us all their jargon and we hear about "inorganic money" and the central bank printing it unscrupulously, etc etc. and we don't quite get it, but we know that you can buy less things every time, even with more money in our pockets, so we know we can't keep money in the bank and so on and so forth.

You certainly provide good arguments for us to seriously consider studying this new thing in depth.

Thanks

I just have to wonder what's going to happen when hajin is taking 10 grand a month out of the reward pool. Exponential growth of accounts like his could be a steem killer eventually...

It's actually more than that my dear Amber, but to be honest he may not be the biggest abuser on the platform. its disheartening, I won't lie, but the problem needs to be addressed from the code up, not with flags and shaming.. thats not a long term solution.

Not only is flagging not a long term solution, but it doesn't work very well in the short term either. If this kind of abuse can't be stopped, it will eventually kill the platform, simply by the weight of the reward abuse. The abusers don't care about the long term health of the platform, they're just here to suck out as much as they can while they can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43