Do Not Let Anyone Get To You... Even Your Mother

in #steem7 years ago

I write this because of a rough night. I had to get a tonsillectomy last year summer and I lost a lot of weight because I was not able to eat and I was on Vicodin to help with the pain. Being on it, it made me lose my appetite and I was loopy for two weeks and much of what I said I cannot recall.

I gained weight but more than my 'healthy' scale I would say. I was pudgy at most and my mom would not let me get away with it. I go to the gym at least three times a week, watch what I eat and be careful with what goes in my body. I struggle with my body image and I never feel like it is perfect enough and the one person that made it worse was, you guessed it, my mother.

Moral of the story? You can't starve yourself and expect someone to be happy with you. My mom was always critical of everything I did. I work, go to school full time, maintain a healthy lifestyle and make sure I do not neglect my extra curriculars to the best of my ability. I am happy with how well I am doing in all aspects of my life and to have someone constantly degrade your work and put you down for it is unacceptable even your mother.

I understand my mother wants the best for me and wants me to succeed but there are somethings that she says that do just the opposite. Not everyone is perfect and we are all striving to just be the best version of ourselves. Keep pushing and keep doing the best in all aspects of your life and you will make yourself happy. You are the most important person to impress.

Picture credit: Chi-nese.com

Sort:  

One of the most important mantras to adopt is "my life, my terms". People may disagree with how you want to live. But at the end of the day, deep down they know you'll be fine.

Exactly, keep living and make sure your happy first!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57847.79
ETH 2291.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46