Sort:  

I would consider myself the "average non crypto". Never had any real exposure to Crypto before Steemit. I am also non US based geographically.
I want to debunk this difficulty myth. I found it incredibly easy to 'get my Steem dollars out' and convert to either $US, Euros, or GBP in only 2 steps.
(1) Using Blocktrades - Direct exchange of Steem Dollars to Bitcoin (https://blocktrades.us/) and (2) a new AdvCash Card account - Bitcoin to "Fiat" currency of choice (http://advcash.com/en/)
I found the whole process pretty intuitive. My very first attempt: - Only 30 seconds did it once I had my new AdvCash A/C setup, which itself took about 5 minutes. Peace :)

My procedure is following:

  • transfer SBD to Bittrex
  • sell them there to BTC
  • transfer BTC to Cashila <- referral link

This way I end up with Euros which I can directly use to pay anything via SEPA transfer.

Yeah, I am a actually a programmer/developer...sometimes i have no idea whats hard for the average person. I was just imaging my mom or and any person above 55 trying to do this. These are people who would make great contributors but have no idea how to get money off the platform...so it will just sit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82