You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on the Steem Economic Improvement Proposal (EIP)

in #steem5 years ago

On point one, isn't convergent linear simply a curve that's less than linear at the start gradually converging back to linear? The way you mention it above is as if it goes slightly superlinear? After it converges it will still be too flat, if you get me?

And I think the downvotes will actually be good because personally I actually want to flag spam more but it costs me so I don't do as much as I would like.

Sort:  

On point one, isn't convergent linear simply a curve that's less than linear at the start gradually converging back to linear?

Probably a misstatement, but it's not less than linear - it's more than linear. It starts on a superlinear curve, and then "converges" toward linearity as rshares increase. Hopefully, the number of rshares needed before it converges to linear will be high enough to not make it pointless. Here's a brief explanation of the curve from @vandeberg - the full post can be found here.

We have decided to call this a convergent linear rewards curve, because as the number of rshares increases, this curve converges on linearity and behaves more and more like a linear rewards curve. The specific curve it behaves like can be derived by calculating the limit at infinity. In the case of this curve, it behaves like the curve f(n) = 10n. We can tune how quickly the curve converges to the equivalent linear rewards curve by changing the coefficient of the denominator term.

And I think the downvotes will actually be good because personally I actually want to flag spam more but it costs me so I don't do as much as I would like.

Yeah, I think some people will use more downvotes, but the vast majority of users will simply not bother, just as they do now. But like I said - I would love to be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36