You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Steeming HF 20 and beyond and Skycoin Update

in #steem6 years ago

I was introduced to the meshnet idea about a year ago but was discouraged because it still went through an ISP that someone had to pay for. The person explaining it didn't have an answer to my concern that it still went through an ISP.

I see now (from the website) that the long term goal is to eliminate the ISP.

Now its got my attention.

I have added my email to the mailing list on skycoin.net (not sure that worked because I never got a response) and it looked like there was a waiting list to purchase the skyminer.

I'm ready to take the next step. I am an IT professional, I live in a low population rural area but I have a GREAT fiberoptic Internet connection at home. I work in a high population urban city. Where I do have access to piggyback on a 100Mb fiber connection.

I want to host a skyminer node or be a part of this project. Do you have any recommendations for my next step(s)?

Thanks

Sort:  

I just found your How to start a community meshnet. I will start there, thanks.

There are a few different methods of building a meshnet ...but at present I love the skycoin project ..The idea of running it with a crypto to fund it makes it far more desirable to people than doing it with unpaid volunteers like the nyc mesh..

So how does the crypto part work? Does Joe Public have to buy X# of skycoin from somewhere first in order to use the meshnet?

skycoin has a blockchain built in the skyminer router system and pays coins for the data transferred by the skyminer nodes ..so joe public just uses the open skywire wifi network to hook in and the skyminers get paid skycoin for operating the network ...so free internet .... kind of a neat idea a banking monetary and decentralized internet communications system all in one .. So no off switch to the internet anymore !

I see the current (October 4, 2018) market price for Skycoin is $3.61.
Other than sell my SKY for BTC is there another use or market for it?

only use for any crypto at the moment is to sell it for things we want to buy .. or pos mining of some kind ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32