The unspoken & frightening truth about Steemit

in #steem5 years ago

Many people already thought so but now we have it black on white. Yesterday I was browsing Steemit and came across this post of @oliverschmid. He highlights a tool of @therealwolf which he developed showing numbers of dailiy users of Steem and the applications of the blockchain. Here is a screenshot and the link of the tool.

Insights.PNG
Source

It shows ~13k daily users, which is in my opinion a quite low number. I thought more people are continuously on this platform exchanging their opinions and create content. Anyways, this insight then drew my attention to the posts on Steemit which earn a lot of money.

I thought ok 13k users whereof 95% do not really contribute to the earnings of a post. Sure they do and I do not want to undervalue upvotes from anyone but I only thought ok where does all the money come from? The money from the posters who you see on the trending page. Idols for many Steemians here on the community.

Post earnings

So I checked their post earnings on www.steemworld.org. For those who are not aware of what it is: It is a quite cool site where It provides you with a perfect overview of your balances. Moreover, you have an excellent overview who reacted and engaged on your posts. Above that you can see how high the weight of votes of your post payouts are.

I opened the trending page and checked with the tool where their payouts come from. I only checked a view but the data always looked kinda like this:

Steem problem.PNG
Note: I do not want to blame or humilate someone here so I just give Steemworld as a source
www.steemworld.org

This graph means that more than 75% of the upvotes are bought. The votes with the high values are websites which promote vote buying. You can check it out yourself and give it a try.

Recommendation

I do not want to panic here or blame other people that they do what they do. But from my point of view it highlights a problem which I encountered recently on Steemit. A lot of people here just write their posts and upvote some related content or accounts. They are in the tunnel and do not engage with their surroundings.

I can also blame myself. In the beginning I just made a post per day, uploading it here and came back the next day. Hoping for rewards. But when you think that everyone does that, Steemit will be a dead community in the near future. So I started now to give each day different people a couple of valuable comments and upvote that provide good content.

It is actually pretty fun and the people appreciate that you invest your time reading and commenting on their work.

I think its about time to connect with others and push yourself to look for interesting people that work hard on their posts which would deserve some more attention.

PS

This post is a bit dramatic so do not take it too seriously. I just want to put some light on a problem which I recently encountered.


If you liked this post, make sure to upvote. Also, please share this with anybody you know who might think this worth reading. Make sure to express any questions, comments or feedback you may have down below. In this particular case I would highly appreciate feedback or your insights :)

Keep up the good work guys and I would love to see you around

Cheers
M

Follow mcnestler

Sort:  

Interesting choice of topic. Such an useful post @mcnestler

It shows ~13k daily users, which is in my opinion a quite low number. I thought more people are continuously on this platform exchanging their opinions and create content

As price of BTC and STEEM will grow, then people will start being active again. That's just how it seem to work. One day we will be happy with that small traffic.

Imagine 10times more traffic. How could then anyone find your post? Amount of content creators would be just crushing.

This graph means that more than 75% of the upvotes are bought.

Indeed. I thought that over 90% are bought. 75% is not so bad.

A lot of people here just write their posts and upvote some related content or accounts. They are in the tunnel and do not engage with their surroundings.

Im not sure if you're aware, but it's hardly possible to make any profit on upvoting your own content. With current price and demand for upvotes you will most likely lose whenever you do that.

So it's not like those in trending page are making huge $$$. They actually hardly make any. But they upvote their content to get into trending page and get some extra exposure.

So I started now to give each day different people a couple of valuable comments and upvote that provide good content.

I noticed and I really value your work.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99