OUR STEEM HOUSE UPDATE

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Applying my talent to save cost.

building our house windows gradually by myself

All pictures are mine.

Hello steem, welcome to my blog, today I’m bringing to my steem friends the update of things happening around our new apartment that we’re setting up by the help of Steem.

Last time, I explained to Steem brothers how securing an apartment became necessary for my family as things are getting ruffled everyday in our country, as an accountant by profession and got married to an economist, we did some analysis and decided to go that tough path of putting up a bungalow apartment in order to salvage huge money that we’re paying for house rent yearly.

Getting the Windows ready ahead of time.

*900mmx1400mm casement windows.

One good virtue that helps folks to minimize the cost of living is the ability to do certain things for themselves, someone like me who delights in learning things that my brain can handle especially when it comes to technical things is one of those who has mastered the easier way to maneuver some difficulties in our country Nigeria.

I’m gradually building a total of 16 number of casement windows for our new house, the total windows were estimated $2,500 if we give it out to contractors, but doing it by myself will save up to $700 for us since we only need to buy the materials for the job.

I started by building the windows section after section; from frames to the inner sections, as we are already spending much on the building itself which was estimated for $11.000, we lack funds of doing things in bulk, therefore we’re taking them one at a time. As soon as I finish the inner section of the windows, I’ll start adding mosquito proof section, it’s necessary to protect the building from mosquitoes and flies as mosquitoes are major malaria spreading flies in Africa. After the mosquito net sections, I’ll then invite steel welder who will construct steel burglary proofs for the windows, then after that I may start fixing the glass panels.

angle material

You may also like to know some of the individual assembling materials for casement windows. The above picture is what is known as angle- clip, it comes in 6 meters length which is cut in pieces according measurements needed, angle-clip is used to assemble pieces of individual mitred materials together to form a unit.

Another accessory required in building a casement window is called a handle; handles are used to open close windows and also to lock 🔒 them up from the inside.

One set of casement handle is around $2, most good brands are imported from the United States 🇺🇸 and some other from China 🇨🇳.

Another important tools in casement windows are called stoppers, like in the picture above, stoppers are used to control the speed of the windows, it protects the windows from being slammed violently by wind.

Taking a good look at the picture above, you could see how the stopper mechanism are being installed on the casement window. A set of stopper is around $1.

Building our house windows to me is very fun and exciting, some of my friends that do visit us are excited to see what we’re able to achieve for ourselves without extra cost from contractors, and I’m ever willing to teach anyone interested in learning, it’s a good hubby that also fetchs some fiat for the family anytime that people come for it.

Another important tool that is so handy and needed in the process of any construction work is a measuring tape, as little as it is, I may not have achieved anything without the measuring tape around.

The picture above is the main engine behind my success in building those casement windows, it’s call Mitre Saw this type is Japan made, I bought it around $300, this one have served me for 13 years now.

The last thing that I’ll talk about in this post is what you’re looking at, it’s call brush, they comes in rolls, and they are used to stabilize the smooth closure of the windows, stopping then from unpleasant noises and also helps to prevent little opening and gaps with give the windows a well tightened closures.

Hope you enjoyed my post, maybe later I’ll bring to us another level and the progress of our Steem house.

Thanks for reading. Please support the speed of our building by up voting my blog post. Very soon I and my wife and little kids will move in to our own apartment and continue Steem journey from there!! Cheers!

I believe in Steem, what about you?


Great visionaries are already investing on #Steem!

Battle each other in the @SteemMonsters arena!

Take Steem on the go and engage with each other with @Partiko!

Blog our thoughts and passions to the world with @SteemPress!

Showcase our vlogs and video content with @Dtube!

Find amazing products to share with @SteemHunt!

Take epic pics with @Appics
Lost weight and get fit with @ActiFit!

Stream our gaming with @Vimm!

Build virtual empires with @DrugWars!

And so much more.....

My shoutout to all Steem visionaries, they’re numerous to mention!!

@theycallmedan, @abigail-dantes, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @flipstar, @fulltimegeek, @imacryptorick, @kevinwong, @krnel, @meesterboom, @smasssh, @tarazkp, @v4vapid, @yabapmatt.

We are STEEM!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Good idea to do as much of the work as you can by yourselves. You will save a fortune.

On point friend. Thanks for showing love. I appreciate your comments and upvotes

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65898.24
ETH 3442.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62