You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lost Steemians : My Top 3 Missing In Action

in #steem6 years ago

I miss @elyaque, from Venezuela, @bitbutter, the creator of some great youtube animations, and the late @lauralemons.
They're my top 3. Its important to recognise that people often take a hiatus, they get writer's block or burned out and often come back in their own time.
I was away for 3 months around Christmas/New years 2016-2017.
I just went a day without posting, then another, and another.
It wasn't deliberate. I still loved the platform, it just got easier and easier to put off posting for another day.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing @mattclarke I appreciate you validating that I'm not the only one who misses other people posting on here! :)

As I mentioned in the post, I am optimistic @shellyduncan will come back and it's just real life taking priority which is a very healthy thing, but I think the other 2 are probably gone and deliberately so.

@christosthegreek was a fantastic contributor. I miss his posts. I hope he returns. I am now "following" @shellyduncan and @cryptoandzen because of your post here. People can leave the forum for any number of reasons. I came to it as a source of information about cryptocurrencies and stayed for the virtual interaction. I think it has great potential - and it is far superior to fakebook. Steemit will survive :) and maybe draw them back.

"I came to it as a source of information about cryptocurrencies and stayed for the virtual interaction."

I did the same. Still trying to find my way after almost a year and I can see that there is definitely value here, but finding it and unlocking it is a challenge sometimes :)

I'm happy to hear I've helped connect you up with a few other great Steemians. I hope you enjoy their posts as much as I do.

On the other hand, I'm starting to see genuine interest from people who signed up a long time ago, and never got started until now.
My brother, @danclarke has started posting from steepshot.
My mate, @steveblucher is submitting to utopian, and a stunning young travel blogger I onboarded almost 2 years ago, @theworldcanvas just found her password and is looking to start posting.

You have done a fantastic job in bringing new people to the platform. I'd actually be very interested to hear your take on how to reduce our churn rates. I know you have excellent engagement strategy for the Mallsballers, but for the rest of us not from that part of the world....?

Deputies. @o07 and @holoz0r are my left and right arms.
Without them I'm just a flailing, helpless torso.

PS - I don't believe it for a second because I think you are being modest, but I might start calling you the Black Knight anyway ;)

Ni!
I think it's helped that I've been very forthcoming with identifying details.
You and I have been interacting here for a while now, and I have no idea what your name is, where you are or what you look like.
That's cool, obviously, we all have our own stuff going on.
You can build an online presence without those things, but when you want to build something in meatspace, people would much rather meet someone they know they'll recognise and already know by name.

It's a good point. I do value my privacy so I'm not ready to cross the Rubicon and put my identity on the blockchain yet. I do find that my anonymity allows me some freedom to write uninhibited.

I respect that operating in meatspace works well for geographically localised groups but when a community is globalised and just based on a common (possibly niche) interest it is not really an option to operate in meatspace.

The monthly meetups (next one this Thursday at The Jade, Flinders St, Adelaide from 6pm, all welcome) have certainly helped with retention, though.
Another thing that helps is commenting heaps.
I found my breakdown on https://steemitboard.com that I'm writing almost 50 comments for every blog post.

If I notice a post on a topic I've seen elsewhere, I'll tag the op in the comments of the new post; so they can find each other.
If you know just one or two others who share your niche, it makes the steem experience much more engaging.
That's how subcommunities develop. (geographical or otherwise)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85